Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: QT 3.1.1 for windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Does anyone knows where I can download QT 3.1.1 for windows. I am planning to use Dev C++ with its mingw and use QT in it.
    But I specifically want QT 3.1.1 because I already have a project in that verson from redhat 9.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Qt3 Free is not available for Windows, only with commercial license (then the answer is "from Trolltech"). You can try to use the ported one from Qt3 for Unix, but remember of its limited capabilities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Well I am having trouble finding version 3.1.1 and even if I do.. I don't know whether it will be compatible with dev-c++. However, I see that there is a version 3.2 for windows which comes with a the book " C++ GUI programming with Qt 3". If anyone knows where I can download this non-commercial version then please do reply. Furthermore, not sure where that version will work with dev-c++.

    Is it possible to download QT 3.1.1 source and compile with mingw in windows so that we get a working version of qt 3.1.1 for windows . But again I think there is no source available for windows....only version 4 and above is supported..
    is there any way I can use qt 3.1.1 in windows ??
    Last edited by ct; 11th February 2006 at 11:25.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Quote Originally Posted by ct
    If anyone knows where I can download this non-commercial version then please do reply. Furthermore, not sure where that version will work with dev-c++.
    You can't. The version is redistributed with the book only and is intended for MSVC or Borland compilers.


    Is it possible to download QT 3.1.1 source and compile with mingw in windows so that we get a working version of qt 3.1.1 for windows .
    No, as I said, there is no Qt3 open source for Windows.

    is there any way I can use qt 3.1.1 in windows ??
    As already mentioned, try here: http://kde-cygwin.sourceforge.net/qt3-win32/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Well.. I think I installed mingw and QT properly ..however I am having some problems compiling them.. I am removed MSYS and I think all the paths are correct.. here is the path

    %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\Sy stem32\Wbem;C:\Dev-Cpp\bin;C:\Program Files\qt-win-free-mingw-3.3.4\bin;

    but now when i tyup
    >qmake mypro.pro
    I get annoying message
    Failed to open file : D:/project/pro\Makefile
    at this time I am inside D:\project\pro

    well something is wrong with the path I guess...and the project that I am trying to compile is a straight pick from redhat 9..it compiled and worked well there..could it be due to this reason that it is from linux ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Try "qmake" (without the .pro file name). And make sure there are no "alien" files (like Makefile and object files) in the directory. Just .pro file and headers/sources of the project.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    well thanx that seems to have solve the qmake problem...but now I am running into another problem with make..
    >make
    makefile:137: warning: overriding commands for target `.'
    makefile:134: warning: ignoring old commands for target `.'
    make: *** No rule to make target `C:\Program', needed by `makefile'. Stop.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,013 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    AFAIK some tool in the chain (qmake maybe? or dos shell?) can't handle spaces in directory names. You have to use DOS paths to override that (like C:\Progra~1) or move your installation to a place without whitespaces in the path.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QT 3.1.1 for windows

    Thanx...just solved the problem now I think I will be able to compile..
    it was right there in the Trolltech document but missed my big eyes

    http://www.trolltech.com/developer/p...windowsnt.html

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.