Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How many items can Treeview /Tableview holds ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    India
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default How many items can Treeview /Tableview holds ?

    Hi,

    How many number of items (or how many row&columns ) can table/tree view accommodate.
    I am about to deal with GB's of data in tree & table view, So I got a doubt that "is there any point where tree/table crashes after inserting certain number of items ? ".


    Thanks.
    Thanks :-)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    483
    Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How many items can Treeview /Tableview holds ?

    If you get your design right, then the view lazily queries the model as needed and does not impose any practical limit on the number of elements it can display. I recall displaying ~ 1 million of rows and columns. At this point it becomes a UI problem, because the user cannot easily scroll using a scrollbar with a resolution of a few hundred pixels.

    Make sure you set up the view so that it does not need to go over the whole model just to compute the scrollbar's size. For instance, if you use a QTreeView and all the items have the same height, then do not forget to call setUniformRowHeights(true).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    India
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How many items can Treeview /Tableview holds ?

    Is there any restriction in accommodating number of items when i do Lazy loading ?

    I am planing to work with lazy loading. ex: I have nearly 1 crore of rows but at a time I will load and show <200 rows only, So if i follow this approach there wont be any problems right ??

    I want to implement an application which should show any number of rows (on an avg: 1/2 crores of rows).
    Thanks :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How many items can Treeview /Tableview holds ?

    Well, there's a new word for me:

    A crore (/ˈkrɔər/; abbreviated cr) is a unit in the Indian numbering system equal to ten million (10,000,000; in scientific notation: 107), which is written in these regions as 1,00,00,000 with the local style of digit group separators.
    As yeye_olive says, you want to avoid making your entire model load in order to calculate simple things, like the total number of rows.

    This discussion might help.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    India
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How many items can Treeview /Tableview holds ?

    I have come across this bug(https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-28631) during explorations, So can't we handle more then 70 million rows in a view ??

    I am working with 64-bit applications so how many rows can I handle in this case ?
    Thanks :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Nesting TableViews under TreeView items
    By marcuso in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th March 2012, 18:00
  2. Using a TreeModel with a treeView and tableView
    By sheik482 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th September 2010, 03:25
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th September 2010, 08:38
  4. updating treeview from tableview
    By darshan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th February 2009, 19:53
  5. TreeView, TableView
    By rbrand in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th July 2006, 08:54

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.