Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    74
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

    I am trying to make the QWT designer plugin part of my Visual Studio environment.
    I successfully built a release build of the qwt designer.
    I copied all of the qwt_designer_plugin.* files to my
    C:\Qt\4.2.1\plugins\designer directory.

    Now when I load my project and open a .ui file I still see only the standard
    QT Toolbox.

    In addition, now when I close my Visual Studio project I get a "Microsoft Visual Studio
    has encountered a problem and needs to close" popup. I only see this if I do something
    that invokes the designer.

    Running QT designer in standalone mode fails to show the QWT plug in as well.


    Any suggestions?

    Commercial QT 4.2.1 on Windows XP.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

    That plugin might depend on some other DLLs (you can verify this with Dependency Walker). In such case you have to copy those DLLs to a directory in which windows will look them (for example the same one where Qt DLLs are or c:\windows\system).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,253
    Thanked 860 Times in 809 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

    Qwt doesn't need any library beside Qt, but maybe the Qwt library itself is not in the PATH.

    Uwe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    74
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

    I verified that qwt libs etc are in my path. Concentrating on just the QT Designer standalone app, that fails to show the qwt plugin as well. I ran dependency walker on it and it doesn't show any attempt to load anything that looks qwt related. Only msjava.dll is missing but I don't think that one matters.. I don't have it on my machine anyway.

    Any suggestions?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,253
    Thanked 860 Times in 809 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

    Try to enable some debug messages from Qt.

    Don't know if it is the same with Qt/Windows, but AFAIR on X11 there is a QT_DEBUG_PLUGINS environment variable that helps.

    Uwe

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qwt plugin not showing in Visual Studio QT toolbox

    Make sure that both the plugin and the library were built in the release mode. You can also try to clean the plugin cache (HKCU\Software\Trolltech\OrganizationDefaults\Qt Plugin Cache 4.2.false).

Similar Threads

  1. Visual Studio App Wizard for Qt
    By joshlareau in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 21:36
  2. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 14:15
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th November 2006, 00:50
  4. problem with linking
    By mickey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12th August 2006, 22:41
  5. Qt Designer & Visual Studio 2005
    By pSiCho in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2006, 14:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.