Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: qvfb problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default qvfb problem

    Hello all,

    I performed the following steps to get ready to use the virtual framebuffer:

    1. Built and installed Qt 4.2.1 using the -qvfb flag in the configure step
    2. cd'd to <Qt install dir>/tools/qvfb
    3. Ran make
    4. Ran make install

    Then to use the virtual framebuffer I ran:
    Qt Code:
    1. <qt bin dir>/qvfb -width 640 -height 480 -qwsdisplay QVFb:0 &
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    At this point I see the virtual framebuffer application on my screen.

    Then I run
    Qt Code:
    1. ./mygui -qws -display "QVFb:0"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I get the following error:
    Qt Code:
    1. _X11TransSocketINETConnect() can't get address for QVFb:6000: Name or service not known
    2. gui: cannot connect to X server QVFb:0
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Any ideas about how to fix this would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Derek
    Last edited by drkbkr; 29th March 2007 at 18:30.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    36
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    Looks like you may of compiled your application against Qtx11.
    Freelance Senior Software Engineer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    I know this thread is quite old, but I am facing the same problem. If lpotter is right, how can I compile my application against qvfb in order to use it and not x11? How can I use qmake in order to link it against qvfb? Do I have to modify the .pro files to add there a linker options? I configured qtopia-core with the qvfb support, so it should be enough, shouldn't it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    "QVFb is an X11 application supplied with Qt/X11 that provides a virtual framebuffer for Qtopia Core to use"

    Then: your executable shall be built with Qtopia Core and not with QT.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    Then: your executable shall be built with Qtopia Core and not with QT.
    And that's exactly what I am doing: I have compiled Qt/X11 with qvfb support, then I compiled the Qt/X11 tool qvfb, and finally qtopia core. When I compile my application I do it under qtopia core and not under Qt/X11, like it seems that you have understood. I open the qvfb built in Qt/X11 and the application buildt with qtopia-core, but it doesn't work. Any other idea?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    Once the virtual framebuffer (the qvfb application) is running, it is ready for use: Start a server application (i.e. construct a QApplication object with the QApplication::GuiServer flag or use the -qws command line parameter. See the running applications documentation for details). For example:
    cd path/to/Qtopia/Core/examples/widgets/analogclock
    make
    ./analogclock -qws
    Note that as long as the virtual framebuffer is running and the current Qtopia Core configuration supports qvfb, Qtopia Core will automatically detect it and use it by default. Alternatively, the -display option can be used to specify the virtual framebuffer driver. For example:
    cd path/to/Qtopia/Core/examples/widgets/analogclock
    make
    ./analogclock -qws -display QVFb:0
    Warning: If qvfb is not running (or the current Qtopia Core configuration doesn't support it) and the driver is not explicitly specified, Qtopia Core will write to the real framebuffer and the X11 display will be corrupted.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded Qt Jambi PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    i known this thread is quite old,but i am facing the same problem, when i run my program : ./books -qws -display "QVFb:0"

    then it message error: cannot connect to X server QVFb:0
    can you help me
    Contact: Skype: sonnh89
    Yahoo: nhs_0702@yahoo.com

    Liên hệ SKype: sonnh89

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qvfb problem

    If you're still having problems, check out my post on this thread: http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/3782...QVFB-on-Ubuntu

    Let me know if this works for you!

Similar Threads

  1. QVFB problem.
    By hvreddy1110 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th October 2006, 11:29
  2. QVFB problem.
    By hvreddy1110 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th October 2006, 16:16
  3. the big problem about QVFB
    By screen in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th May 2006, 15:06
  4. Grid Layout Problem
    By Seema Rao in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th May 2006, 12:45
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 7th March 2006, 15:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.