Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Subversion Checkout

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Subversion Checkout

    Hello,


    After setting up Subversion in Options I try to import a project via Subversion Checkout:

    Repository: file:///C:/Backup/svn/trunk
    Checkout path: C:\Project
    Checkout directory: trunk

    But I get error messages.
    How do I set the repository, path and directory?

    Thanks for any help.

    Regards,
    André
    Last edited by andre314; 11th August 2015 at 13:34.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Subversion Checkout

    There is lots of context missing.

    - Subversion options of which program?
    - Which error messages?
    - How is this Qt related?

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Subversion Checkout

    I assume this is Qt related because the OP is using Qt Creator but the problem is really just the arguments being passed to svn from "File > New File or Project > Project from Version Control" or the like
    I do not have a copy to hand but I would expect that:
    Qt Code:
    1. Repo path: file://c:/backup/svn
    2. Checkout path: trunk
    3. Checkout directory: c:\project
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Might be closer.

    I have always used the TortoiseSVN tools to perform the initial checkin of new projects, or initial checkout of new copies, and Qt Creator to manage minor stuff (small checkins, diffs etc) after that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Subversion Checkout

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for your reaction, but what I try I don't get a checkout with Qt.
    When I use TortoiseSVN I can make a working copy.
    But then how do I commit a change in any file within Qt Creator?
    When I make minor change and perform the command: 'Tools->Subversion->Commit' it says 'There are no modified files.'

    How does Qt Creator knows where the repository is accommodated?

    Kind regards,
    Andre

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Subversion Checkout

    Qt knows where the repository is because that information is stored in the .svn folders of your working copy. For example, on a Linux box:
    Qt Code:
    1. chrisw@newton ~/workspace/planner $ svn info | grep -i repos
    2. Repository Root: http://svn/svn
    3. Repository UUID: 3f8060b9-593f-436d-8d40-9c7c21def9b9
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    The Subversion functions in Qt Creator should be enabled when working in checked out folders, and not otherwise.

    If you modify an existing file then it should show in 'Tools->Subversion->Commit'. New files need to be added first, 'Tools->Subversion->Add foobar.cpp'

Similar Threads

  1. Git checkout syntax for Qt version?
    By chouqud in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th February 2014, 00:46
  2. Auto checkout files using Perforce
    By JonnyJP in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd May 2012, 09:07
  3. Help Checkout from qt gitrious
    By seanasl in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd January 2012, 23:41
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th November 2009, 10:46
  5. QT and Subversion
    By TomASS in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th September 2009, 22:25

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.