View Poll Results: Do you use the designer for your gui?

Voters
662. You may not vote on this poll
  • Always. I almost don't know how to layout widgets manually.

    193 29.15%
  • Designer? What is that? Nope, never use it.

    111 16.77%
  • Depends and the task. Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

    358 54.08%
Results 1 to 20 of 81

Thread: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I use the Designer. I avoided it in Qt3, but changed my mind in Qt4. The Qt3 Designer created widgets, which meant I was always subclassing an autogenerated class. But with the new UI form classes this is not a problem. I can treat the UI as a true object, and use it the way I want to use it. I typically use the UI as a private data member, but sometimes use multiple inheritance instead. The second problem with Qt3 was that it generated "messy" code (imho). But Qt4 Designer generates very clean sensible code.

    I did have one GUI a couple of months ago that was too complicated for Designer. I needed to use a couple of custom layout managers in it, and some "hand tweaking", to make lay it out correctly. But that's the exception.

    I don't put everything in a single UI file, though. I tend to split it up. The main window, menus and toolbars will be one UI file, and the central widget antoher UI file. If I have a tabbed widget, then every page will be a separate UI file. Etc.

    Designer has proven to be a huge timesaver.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I always use the designer to design my GUI's, but only the layout.... for functionality i use the subclassing method with Visual Studio 6 as IDE.
    ..:: Still Standing Strong ::..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I mostly used the designer with KDevelop3. I'm still not exactly sure what is the right way to use it (or, the preferred way) I've been creating Qt apps with KDevelop, as well as with Eclipse. As I understand it, the first encourages subclassing, the latter encourages using the UI as a member. Now I'd like to know what most of the users of Qt prefer....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    I use the designer for simple dialogs only.

    The feature I would really need is being able to put a _subclassed_ widget onto the form. If there is already such a functionality, I don't know how to use it... What I can do is to use the Qt provided widgets only, but usually I'd like to work with eg. MyTabWidget instead of QTabWidget. I'd welcome Visual Studio's convenient solution in the designer for this issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Do you use the designer, or do you code your gui manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by lenardpi View Post
    The feature I would really need is being able to put a _subclassed_ widget onto the form. If there is already such a functionality, I don't know how to use it... What I can do is to use the Qt provided widgets only, but usually I'd like to work with eg. MyTabWidget instead of QTabWidget.
    Yes, it's possible. See Promoting Widgets for more details.
    J-P Nurmi

  6. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    Ashkan_s (19th September 2012)

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 11:52
  3. Problem closing a QMainWindow in Qt4.2
    By ian in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th October 2006, 00:49
  4. Where is code file
    By safknw in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 20th June 2006, 10:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.