Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: When does QMake find/look for prf files?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default When does QMake find/look for prf files?

    I want to allow to optionally include additional features into a build and it seemed to me, that prf were made for that.

    So I followed the docs http://doc.qt.io/qt-4.8/http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qmake-advanced-usage.html and entered "CONFIG += pullout" into the additional qmake parameters text input field in the build options of QtCreator which resulted in the following qmake call in release mode:
    Qt Code:
    1. qmake.exe C:\Tobias\n\QtGLWebcamDemo\QtGLWebcamDemo.pro -r -spec win32-msvc2010 "CONFIG += pullout"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    pullout.prf
    Qt Code:
    1. win32:CONFIG(release, debug|release): LIBS += -L$$PWD/libs/ -lPulloutDLL
    2. else:win32:CONFIG(debug, debug|release): LIBS += -L$$PWD/libs/ -lPulloutDLL
    3. else:unix: LIBS += -L$$PWD/libs/ -lPulloutDLL
    4.  
    5. INCLUDEPATH += $$PWD/include
    6. DEPENDPATH += $$PWD/include
    7.  
    8. message("Libraries: AHDDDD")
    9. message("include path: $$INCLUDEPATH")
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I placed several versions (with BBBB/CCCC instea of DDDD) into C:\Qt\5.4\msvc2010_opengl\mkspecs\win32-msvc2010 (which is QMAKESPEC), in the project folder and in a folder called features in the project folder.
    When trying to build with QtCreator AHXXXX is being left out.

    This made me create an empty .qmake.cache in the project folder, but that didn't help.

    Though it somehow helped me for the case if I'm manually executing qmake on the commandline:
    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Tobias\n\QtGLWebcamDemo>"C:\Qt\5.4\msvc2010_opengl\bin\qmake.exe" -makefile C
    2. :\Tobias\n\QtGLWebcamDemo\QtGLWebcamDemo.pro -r -spec win32-msvc2010 "CONFIG +=
    3. pullout"
    4. Project MESSAGE: Using win32 configuration
    5. Project MESSAGE: OpenCV path: C:/opencv
    6. Project MESSAGE: Includes path: C:/opencv/build/include/
    7. Project MESSAGE: Libraries: -LC:/opencv/build/x86/vc10/lib -lopencv_core2411 -lo
    8. pencv_highgui2411 -lopencv_imgproc2411 -lopencv_calib3d2411
    9. Project MESSAGE: Q MAKE SPEC: C:/Qt/5.4/msvc2010_opengl/mkspecs/win32-msvc2010
    10. Project MESSAGE: Q MAKE SPEC: C:/Tobias/n/QtGLWebcamDemo
    11. Project MESSAGE: Libraries: AHDDDD
    12. Project MESSAGE: include path: C:/opencv/build/include/ C:/Tobias/n/QtGLWebcamDe
    13. mo/features/include
    14. Project MESSAGE: Using win32 configuration
    15. Project MESSAGE: OpenCV path: C:/opencv
    16. Project MESSAGE: Includes path: C:/opencv/build/include/
    17. Project MESSAGE: Libraries: -LC:/opencv/build/x86/vc10/lib -lopencv_core2411 -lo
    18. pencv_highgui2411 -lopencv_imgproc2411 -lopencv_calib3d2411
    19. Project MESSAGE: Q MAKE SPEC: C:/Qt/5.4/msvc2010_opengl/mkspecs/win32-msvc2010
    20. Project MESSAGE: Q MAKE SPEC: C:/Tobias/n/QtGLWebcamDemo
    21. Project MESSAGE: Libraries: AHDDDD
    22. Project MESSAGE: include path: C:/opencv/build/include/ C:/Tobias/n/QtGLWebcamDe
    23. mo/features/include
    24. Project MESSAGE: Using win32 configuration
    25. Project MESSAGE: OpenCV path: C:/opencv
    26. Project MESSAGE: Includes path: C:/opencv/build/include/
    27. Project MESSAGE: Libraries: -LC:/opencv/build/x86/vc10/lib -lopencv_core2411d -l
    28. opencv_highgui2411d -lopencv_imgproc2411d -lopencv_calib3d2411d
    29. Project MESSAGE: Q MAKE SPEC: C:/Qt/5.4/msvc2010_opengl/mkspecs/win32-msvc2010
    30. Project MESSAGE: Q MAKE SPEC: C:/Tobias/n/QtGLWebcamDemo
    31. Project MESSAGE: Libraries: AHDDDD
    32. Project MESSAGE: include path: C:/opencv/build/include/ C:/Tobias/n/QtGLWebcamDe
    33. mo/features/include
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    AHDDDD is the pullout.prf in the features folder, but I would have expected it to be the pullout.prf in the project folder.
    However this does not really help me since I do not know where I can find the makefiles generated from this call. They are not in the usual place.

    I also tried to set the path to the .prf file with -set QMAKEFEATURES "C:\Tobias\n\QtGLWebcamDemo\"
    which gave me this in both QtCreator and CLI:
    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Tobias\n\QtGLWebcamDemo>"C:\Qt\5.4\msvc2010_opengl\bin\qmake.exe" C:\Tobias\n
    2. \QtGLWebcamDemo\QtGLWebcamDemo.pro -set QMAKEFEATURES "C:\Tobias\n\QtGLWebcamDem
    3. o\"
    4. ***Unknown option -set
    5. Usage: C:\Qt\5.4\msvc2010_opengl\bin\qmake.exe [mode] [options] [files]
    6.  
    7. QMake has two modes, one mode for generating project files based on
    8. some heuristics, and the other for generating makefiles. Normally you
    9. shouldn't need to specify a mode, as makefile generation is the default
    10. mode for qmake, but you may use this to test qmake on an existing project
    11.  
    12. Mode:
    13. -project Put qmake into project file generation mode
    14. In this mode qmake interprets files as files to
    15. be built,
    16. defaults to *; *; *; *.ts; *.xlf; *.qrc
    17. Note: The created .pro file probably will
    18. need to be edited. For example add the QT variable to
    19. specify what modules are required.
    20. -makefile Put qmake into makefile generation mode (default)
    21. In this mode qmake interprets files as project files to
    22. be processed, if skipped qmake will try to find a project
    23. file in your current working directory
    24.  
    25. Warnings Options:
    26. -Wnone Turn off all warnings; specific ones may be re-enabled by
    27. later -W options
    28. -Wall Turn on all warnings
    29. -Wparser Turn on parser warnings
    30. -Wlogic Turn on logic warnings (on by default)
    31. -Wdeprecated Turn on deprecation warnings (on by default)
    32.  
    33. Options:
    34. * You can place any variable assignment in options and it will be *
    35. * processed as if it was in [files]. These assignments will be parsed *
    36. * before [files]. *
    37. -o file Write output to file
    38. -d Increase debug level
    39. -t templ Overrides TEMPLATE as templ
    40. -tp prefix Overrides TEMPLATE so that prefix is prefixed into the value
    41. -help This help
    42. -v Version information
    43. -after All variable assignments after this will be
    44. parsed after [files]
    45. -norecursive Don't do a recursive search
    46. -recursive Do a recursive search
    47. -set <prop> <value> Set persistent property
    48. -unset <prop> Unset persistent property
    49. -query <prop> Query persistent property. Show all if <prop> is empty.
    50. -cache file Use file as cache [makefile mode only]
    51. -spec spec Use spec as QMAKESPEC [makefile mode only]
    52. -nocache Don't use a cache file [makefile mode only]
    53. -nodepend Don't generate dependencies [makefile mode only]
    54. -nomoc Don't generate moc targets [makefile mode only]
    55. -nopwd Don't look for files in pwd [project mode only]
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Because it did not explicitely complain about not being able to find any prf file, I also tried it with load(pullout) in my .pro file (also tried with absolute/relative path, with and without .prf, with backwards and forward slashes)
    but I could never load it... It did explicitely complain about not being able to find the path...hooray

    Does anyone have an idea what I am doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: When does QMake find/look for prf files?

    It now works with the prf file in the features folder, after I also created an empty .qmake.conf next to the .qmake.cache file.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th July 2014, 13:05
  2. Can not find files.
    By Niamita in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th October 2011, 11:27
  3. Where i can find qmake in Windows Vista?
    By priya in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st September 2010, 08:05
  4. Qt Designer can't find files
    By MattPhillips in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th August 2010, 19:32
  5. Find font files
    By kovid in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th June 2008, 23:59

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.