Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to get to Action Editor?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default How to get to Action Editor?

    Hello,

    I'm returning to C++ programming and have chosen Qt.
    For the very beginning I try to write a simple Window application with a menu.
    Designer works fine.
    The tuto says to chose Action from the Tools menu to open the action editor.

    There is no Action entry in the Tools menu. How to get the Action editor to get opened?
    Now I have a window with a menu and stuck ...

    Qt Creator 3.6.0 on Linux x86_64 (Ubuntu 14.4)

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to get to Action Editor?

    You can just click into the menu to create a new action.

    Also the action editor should be visible at the bottom by default.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: How to get to Action Editor?

    OKI, found it
    try'n error in the IDE did it.

    Now I have an action ... and have to find out how the action make to act.

    I swear - I'll never try to read a documentation any more.
    it's fun to get from an totally outdated documentation to the reality

    ... but the examples are overwhelming (unusable for a IDE newbie - but overwhelming)

    I'll come back - not in the newbie section then.

    Bye for now
    Cheers
    Frank


    Added after 17 minutes:


    Yepp. I've seen this (see the reply to myself )
    Click into MY menu does nothing - with double click I can change the text of the menu entry.

    F4 (how I found by accident on Google) makes silly things I still don't know what this is)

    I'll figure this out.

    ... the getting started ... Multi platform examples (WOW!). Andoroid skins (WOW!!) 3D actions (WOW!!!!!)
    :/ but making a plain window with one menu action which acts (has some code connected to this will require a lot of try'n error )

    Don't get me wrong
    I like the look if the IDE and I think it is in fact worth of giving it a try.

    Cheers
    Frank
    Last edited by FrankS; 16th March 2016 at 21:31.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to get to Action Editor?

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankS View Post
    Now I have an action ... and have to find out how the action make to act.
    QAction has a triggered() signal that gets emitted when the action is activated (independent of whether it is activated by menu click, short cut, etc).

    Cheers,
    _

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to get to Action Editor?

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankS View Post
    Now I have an action ... and have to find out how the action make to act.
    Connect a slot to the action's triggered() signal and put the code you want executed in that slot.

    I swear - I'll never try to read a documentation any more.
    That's probably not the best idea. Don't confuse some 3rd party tutorial with official docs.

    Click into MY menu does nothing - with double click I can change the text of the menu entry.
    The menu entry is just one incarnation of the action you created. You need to connect the action's triggered() signal to a physical piece of code. Either a predefined slot (e.g. using signal-slot connection editor in Designer) or in the C++ code implementing the widget that uses the Designer form.

    F4 (how I found by accident on Google) makes silly things I still don't know what this is)
    No, "F4" is not what you want. "F2" would be closer but blindly trying things will not get you far.

    :/ but making a plain window with one menu action which acts (has some code connected to this will require a lot of try'n error )
    http://doc.qt.io/qtcreator/creator-writing-program.html
    Application Example
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th September 2014, 12:03
  2. Designing a Node Editor (Hint: Blender Node Editor)
    By Mind Calamity in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th October 2011, 16:22
  3. Action editor and MultiSize Icons
    By mcosta in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th May 2008, 19:29
  4. No action checked in an exclusive action group
    By SkripT in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 13th February 2006, 06:19
  5. action
    By mickey in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th January 2006, 05:18

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.