Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Assertion 's' failed at pulse/stream.c while restarting QAudioOutput and QAudioInput?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Assertion 's' failed at pulse/stream.c while restarting QAudioOutput and QAudioInput?

    My application uses QAudioOutput and QAudioInput for audio communication between different audio devices. So, a user can speak through a microphone and that can be heard through a speaker using this app. It has a push-to-talk feature where the user can push a button on the app or a key on the keyboard to activate speaking through a microphone for the very moment when the button or the key is pressed.

    The problem is that when push-to-talk option is used in quick succession, like when the user presses and releases the button in very quick succession for several times, like 5-6 times, sometimes the application crashes with an error message that says:

    Assertion 's' failed at pulse/stream.c:1662, function pa_stream_writable_size(). Aborting.
    Aborted
    My OS is Ubuntu 14.04 LTS.

    The methods for starting and stopping the microphone and the speaker are as below:
    Qt Code:
    1. void AudioSettings::pushToTalk_pressed()
    2. {
    3. if(output->state() != QAudio::ActiveState && input->state() != QAudio::ActiveState)
    4. {
    5. output->start(input->start());
    6. }
    7. }
    8.  
    9. void AudioSettings::pushToTalk_released()
    10. {
    11. if(output->state() == QAudio::ActiveState && input->state() == QAudio::ActiveState)
    12. {
    13. output->stop();
    14. input->stop();
    15. }
    16. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Here input and output are respectively pointers to object of QAudioInput and QAudioOutput. They are initialized in the following way:
    Qt Code:
    1. QAudioFormat audioFormat;
    2. audioFormat.setChannelCount(2);
    3. audioFormat.setCodec("audio/pcm");
    4. audioFormat.setSampleRate(22050);
    5. audioFormat.setSampleSize(16);
    6. audioFormat.setByteOrder(QAudioFormat::LittleEndian);
    7. audioFormat.setSampleType(QAudioFormat::SignedInt);
    8.  
    9. QAudioDeviceInfo outputDevinfo = ui->output2Box->itemData(ui->output2Box->currentIndex()).value<QAudioDeviceInfo>();
    10.  
    11. if (!outputDevinfo.isFormatSupported(audioFormat))
    12. {
    13. //Default format not supported - trying to use nearest
    14. audioFormat = outputDevinfo.nearestFormat(audioFormat);
    15. }
    16.  
    17. //Initializing output device
    18. output = new QAudioOutput(outputDevinfo, audioFormat, this);
    19.  
    20. QAudioDeviceInfo inputDevinfo = ui->input2Box->itemData(ui->input2Box->currentIndex()).value<QAudioDeviceInfo>();
    21.  
    22.  
    23. if (!inputDevinfo.isFormatSupported(audioFormat))
    24. {
    25. //Default format not supported - trying to use nearest
    26. audioFormat = inputDevinfo.nearestFormat(audioFormat);
    27. }
    28.  
    29. //Initializing input device
    30. input = new QAudioInput(inputDevinfo, audioFormat, this);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I tried to use GDB for finding out why this crash happens, but I only get the result in call stack of QtCreator as shown in the image.
    Screenshot from 2016-05-11 15:27:22.jpg
    Could anyone please tell me how to prevent the aforementioned crash?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by the_naive; 11th May 2016 at 15:43.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    483
    Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Assertion 's' failed at pulse/stream.c while restarting QAudioOutput and QAudioIn

    Could you add qDebug() statements to track exactly when lines 5, 13, and 14 of your first snippet are executed? Maybe at some point line 5 is executed twice, without lines 13 and 14 having been executed in-between; then the second call to input->start() potentially invalidates the first QIODevice while output is still reading from it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Assertion 's' failed at pulse/stream.c while restarting QAudioOutput and QAudioIn

    Thanks yeye_olive for responding. I understand your point, I thought about it as well, which is why I used the "if" statement to prevent it from starting the devices when they are already in active mode. Shouldn't that "if" statement prevent the devices from getting started while they are not inactive?


    Added after 12 minutes:


    Screenshot from 2016-05-11 15:47:50.jpg

    So, according to your suggestion I did so. Apparently the "if" statements are doing they are job as I couldn't any single instant where the devices are getting stopped or started twice in a row without the other happening in the middel. I added an image of the qdebug output. As you can see for some reason QAudioOutput complains about having an buffer underflow and QAudioInput compains about not being able to set input volume.
    Last edited by the_naive; 11th May 2016 at 15:59.

Similar Threads

  1. Debug Assertion Failed
    By beethoven07 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 23rd February 2013, 18:09
  2. Qt OpenGL: Assertion Failed When Close the Window
    By Seishin in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st August 2012, 16:18
  3. QaudioOutPut Stream Audio In Chat Voice ?
    By Thành Viên Mới in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th June 2011, 04:33
  4. Debug Assertion Failed
    By ^NyAw^ in forum General Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th December 2007, 12:48
  5. ASSERT(Failed assertion in Qt == Qt bug)
    By 0xBulbizarre in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th March 2006, 20:06

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.