Thread: LNK1181 cannot open input file 'obj\filename.obj'

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Question LNK1181 cannot open input file 'obj\filename.obj'

Hi,

I know this problem isn't uncommon, but all the other solutions didn't work for me.
    As I'm new to Qt I'm probably overlooking something simple.

I want to access OpenStreetMap data with the Qt Widget QMapControl.
    I downloaded the most recent version from: https://sourceforge.net/projects/qmapcontrol/

Now, in this package there is a directory "samples", but I can't get to run any of them.
    I open the .pro file of one and already tried repeatedly (re-)building, qmaking and cleaning up the project.

But the error message is always some variation of "error: LNK1181: cannot open input file 'obj\filename.obj'".
    Also, in the build\obj folder, the file is not present, only "moc_filename.obj"

I'm using Qt 5.6.0 MSVC2015 64bit and Windows 10, so I'm wondering if it might be related to that?

Regards

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: LNK1181 cannot open input file 'obj\filename.obj'

I did this:

1 - Downloaded and unzipped QMapControl
    2 - Started MSVC 2013 and used the Qt addin for Visual Studio to open the top level .pro file
    3 - This creates an MSVC solution file (.sln) and project files (.vcxproj) for the control DLL and sample programs.
    4 - Set Citymap as the startup project, clicked "build". Compiled and linked without errors.
    5 - Ran it. Worked fine.

I also did this:

1 - Opened a Visual Studio 2013 command prompt window
    2 - Went to the QMapControl top level directory
    3 - Typed "qmake". This generated the Makefiles for the top level (QMapControl.pro) and Samples directories
    4 - Typed "nmake -f Makefile". This compiled and linked the DLL and sample .exe files into the Samples\bin subdirectory
    5 - Went into that directory, typed "Citymap" to run it. Ran fine.