Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

    Dear fellow coders,

    i'm building Qt 5.7 sources to fit my embedded linux target device. My vendor-supplied SDK doesn't come with gstreamer. I've found some qt-gstreamer libraries online and would need some advice on how to incorporate qt-gstreamer into my Qt configure?

    Do I cross-compile qt-gstreamer first using my cross-compiler? And how may I configure Qt configure to include gstreamer in my host Ubuntu PC?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

    You will also need GStreamer itself, not just the Qt bindings.

    Also I am not sure if Qt needs the Qt bindings, I think QtMultimedia uses GStreamer directly. The Qt bindings are for application developers who want to use GStreamer themselves.

    In general, yes, you will need to cross-compile GStreamer and make sure it is then part of the sysroot for compiling Qt and the target image for finding it at runtime.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

    so does it mean to say i'll first install gstreamer in Ubuntu, and then perform ./configure and add -gstreamer parameter?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

    Whether you install GStreamer for the host system is irrelevant.

    Cheers,
    _

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

    actually i'm a little confused with sysroot, is it the filesystem of my target device itself?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to incorporate qt-gstreamer into Qt?

    sysroot is a directory that has the same content as the device.

    That can be a local copy or the device remotely mounted.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 9th March 2011, 16:46
  2. To incorporate a window in Qt
    By augusbas in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th January 2011, 12:25
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th December 2010, 18:14
  4. how to use gstreamer with Qt
    By qwakaw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27th August 2008, 15:41
  5. How To Incorporate Progress Bar In Program
    By deekayt in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th December 2006, 15:40

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.