Thread: How to stucture fullscreen Raspberry Pi application with screen transitions?

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default How to stucture fullscreen Raspberry Pi application with screen transitions?

Hello,

I am a Qt Newbie. I am trying to create a PyQt5 application for Raspberry Pi screen in fullscreen mode. The application is meant to behave in a similar fashion as a mobile application. It will have several screens, which appear based on user interaction with buttons/inputs. I would like to ask for guidance on how I should structure the application in PyQt5 from a high-level point of view.

Here is what I would like to achieve:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0U0faMYDbCg

As you can see, the application has several screens which appear and disappear based on pressed buttons with slide transitions. I am looking for ideas on how to structure the application. Namely, how should each screen be created? Should each screen be a separate Window? Perhaps each screen should be a separate Layout within one window, in which case a given layout would appear based on the button pressed? Should all screens be initiated at startup or when a given button is pressed? Also, how should I handle transitions between screens?