Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Most reliable way to replace Q_WS_X11

  1. #1

    Default Most reliable way to replace Q_WS_X11

    Hello all,

    I am dealing with the replacement of the old Q_WS_X11 definitions.
    I cannot find a clear information in internet on what is Q_WS_X11 supposed to be replaced with, so I am asking here if you have any idea about how to deal with the updating.
    Or, a link to some alternative?

    Thanks!
    Luca

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,420
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,545 Times in 1,495 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Most reliable way to replace Q_WS_X11

    It depends a bit on what you were guarding with that.

    In Qt5 all the GUI differences moved into the QPA (Qt Platform Abstraction) plugins, which are enabled for build by configure switches and feature compile tests.

    If you are accessing X11 API directly, you might have to change more than just the guard define because the Qt X11 adapter is based on XCB now instead libx11.

    One of the Qt extension libraries that has windowing system specific code, KWindowSystems, has its own configure-time checks to decide whether to build X11 specific portions: https://cgit.kde.org/kwindowsystem.g...CMakeLists.txt

    Can you give examples of what the Q_WS_X11 define is correctly guarding in your code?

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. search and replace in js with qt
    By Same_Andy in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th January 2016, 00:54
  2. Reliable HTTP communication over GPRS
    By Ratheendrans in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th May 2012, 09:21
  3. How reliable are QTimers on Windows?
    By Cruz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 22:36
  4. A reliable way to get the size of a checkbox indicator
    By zoeker in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th February 2008, 21:05
  5. On "there is no reliable way to activate a window"
    By ber_44 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 9th July 2007, 23:15

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.