Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: correctly installed Qt4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default correctly installed Qt4

    Hi, I've got a huge request. Can somebody upload for me Dev-C++ with correctly installed Qt 4? I would be very very thankful.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    What do you mean with Qt4 correctly installed?
    Dev-C++ is just an IDE.
    It has no connection with Qt4.
    You can develop Qt4 apps with Dev-C++, but no one can "upload" it, since these are two seperate things.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Perhaps you need guidance on how to set it up in order to use it with Qt?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Re: correctly installed Qt4

    My first post!!! Yay!!!

    Hi!!
    I'm new (completely new) at C++. I'm trying to use QT for a homework. I can ONLY use QT or GTK, and I think QT is a lot simpler. I got only two weeks for this project, so there's no time I can waste.

    The thing is... How do I install QT?

    I followed all of the steps in this page: http://darkhack.googlepages.com/qttutorial

    It didn't work. At all, so I entered this page: http://nicolasj.developpez.com/articles/qt4/
    This site is in french... Yeap, I had a hard time

    There, it explained some things a bit (the "qmake" directory was wrong, so I got a hard time finding it). Qmake is supposed to create a Makefile.Release, and then you use some variables of it to make a Template.

    The thing is, after all this trouble (that costed me one whole day of nothingness), I still caaaaan't!!!! :'(

    There's an error that says (using Dev-c++, by the way)
    [Build Error] [main.o] Error 1

    WHat can I do?

    If somebody has an easy way of using QT, please help me, I'm starting to feel a bit desperate...

    Thanks!!!

    If I have to restar from zero, it doesn't matter. But I have only two weeks for learning C++, B-Trees and Qt... And time is gold... Could you please help me?


    (And that way, you can also help Salazaar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Yeah, I also have done everything what is described in http://darkhack.googlepages.com/qttutorial but it doesn't work, i tried many installation tips, but is still doesn't work!! I'd like to make applications in Qt, but i can't install that. So could somebody tell me, where's 100% correct installing tutorial? Thanks
    Last edited by Salazaar; 2nd May 2007 at 19:46. Reason: updated contents

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    You must first compile Qt in order to use it with Dev-C++.
    The open source version is just that: open source . No binaries. They have to be compiled.

    What compilers are you using? Mingw or the Microsoft C++ compiler (Visual C++ )?

    This influences the building process...

    Regards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    I'm using Dev-C++ (which is using MinGW). And I'd really like to desing qt applications, but I can't install it! All of the tutorial tries are failed... Do you now any 100% checked way to install Qt4? I have Qt4 opensource installer on my desktop, Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Hahahaha!! Yeah!! All tutorials have failed (or maybe WE have failed). As I said before, I also used the french page (which I translated to English with Google). Well, Salazaar, at least we're not alone. There's a whole crew of classmates of mine which have the same problem.

    Some have already given up and started using GTK (which, to me, seems a lot more complicated to use). As soon as somebody has an answer, I will post it.

    By the way, I know nothing of C++, so that main.o thing mekase me go "WTF????"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Re: correctly installed Qt4

    By the way... I used that qmake thing... I suppose that compiles, doesn't it? This demonstrates my level of "lostiness"...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Quote Originally Posted by Osoascam View Post
    By the way... I used that qmake thing... I suppose that compiles, doesn't it? This demonstrates my level of "lostiness"...
    Did you try this linkhttp://www.imb-jena.de/~hollund/software.html
    See the section Qt4 with Dev-C++
    I'm using Kdevelop on linux system and there is no problem.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    I don't understand what all this confusion is about. For Windows, I download Qt open source, and run the installer program. When it asks me if I want MinGW, I say yes. But if you already have MinGW with Dev-C++, then say no, and give it the right location. Soon Qt is installed and working. Very easy.

    If you are having troubles, then you need to say more than just "it doesn't work." Tell us WHAT doesn't work. Tell us the error messages. Tell us exactly what you are doing.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Ok, so I have:
    1) Downloaded Qt 4.2.3 Open Source installer
    2) Installed it to my Dev-C++ directory
    3) Added this template to my Dev-Cpp/Temaplates
    4) Added C:/Qt/4.2.3/lib library and C:/Qt/4.2.3/bin binary file to Dev-C++ by tools->compilator options->directories
    The warnings are such as:
    Qt Code:
    1. 1 C:\Dev-Cpp\main.cpp QApplication: No such file or directory.
    2. 2 C:\Dev-Cpp\main.cpp QPushButton: No such file or directory.
    3. 6 C:\Dev-Cpp\main.cpp `QApplication' undeclared (first use this function)
    4. 6 C:\Dev-Cpp\main.cpp expected `;' before "app"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    And more. Code, which I have used:
    #include <QApplication>
    #include <QPushButton>

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication app(argc, argv);

    QPushButton hello("Hello world!");
    hello.resize(100, 30);

    hello.show();
    return app.exec();
    }

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    What about the include paths? Have you set them correctly?

    They should be ( or contain ) C:/Qt/4.2.3/include

    Regards

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    They're in c:/Qt/4.2.3/include but how could I set them to Dev?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Create a new project and look in the project options.

    I never used it, but any decent IDE should have an option for additional include paths.

    Regards

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    I have added this to Project options->directiories but it still doesn't work. The same errors. What I am doing wrong?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    Try adding the to Tools/Compiler options/Directories/C++ includes also.

    Maybe it works this way.
    Somehow it's gotta work...

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    No, It still doesn't work. (To one of users: Now you see, what is this confusion about). So what do I have to do to set all of this .... correctly? Regards

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    I used your template and I made it work. But this is an unacceptable solution. You have to add all the directory paths inside c:\qt\include in the project options.

    Regards

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    315
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: correctly installed Qt4

    It means that I have to add every file which is in include directory manually? Do I have to do the same with bin and lib directories?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st August 2011, 16:15
  2. No printer installed..?
    By Cutey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th February 2007, 11:08
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd August 2006, 18:02
  4. how to correctly compile threads support?
    By srhlefty in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 25th June 2006, 19:15
  5. scanf not reading input correctly
    By jamadagni in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th January 2006, 15:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.