Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to use QThread to run a task and update GUI?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Coimbatore,TamilNadu,India
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default How to use QThread to run a task and update GUI?

    I would like to create an application that will fetch images from the camera(in a separate thread) continuously and update the GUI controls. How to achieve this?
    Last edited by Gokulnathvc; 4th August 2017 at 13:45. Reason: Update

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    788
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to use QThread to run a task and update GUI?

    And your Question?

    I would do it on the trayicon an always open app ... never close like dropbox app.. and append it in the loader event from sistem..
    and snif dir mounted by camera or usb...
    suggest basic app like ... (i search .i have on disk..)
    after capture all qt close event .... you wand realy close this app question..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    252
    Thanked 717 Times in 707 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: How to use QThread to run a task and update GUI?

    I would like to create an application that will fetch images from the camera(in a separate thread) continuously and update the GUI controls. How to achieve this?
    I would start by reading the documentation of Qt's Multimedia framework and seeing if there is something already built you can use for your purpose instead of reinventing the wheel.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    788
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to use QThread to run a task and update GUI?

    Long time a go i make a simple html editor
    https://www.opendesktop.org/p/1131236/
    and this tool use a special QThread each image a new Thread to get 10 or 80 remote image from document...
    but now

    XHTML Wysiwyg Qeditor 9-10 years old.. the old version have a incombatible QHttp class in 5.9 ... QT(CEO) dont like make class compatible in back version.. from qt4 to qt5

    https://www.opendesktop.org/p/1131236/

    QT(CEO) is a strange man... in his mind:
    Why should he ask the people what use and what is desired?
    this man like only 1/2 success..
    I wanted a qt license ... but I'm disappointed

    MC donald ask people evry day .. what is desired?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,626
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,592 Times in 1,520 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: How to use QThread to run a task and update GUI?

    QHttp started life in Qt3, has been deprecated since version 4.4 of Qt hit the streets in 2008 with QNetworkAccessManager, and marked obsolete since 4.8. I think retiring it after nearly ten years of warnings in perfectly reasonable.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th October 2012, 14:49
  2. Need a Task/Main Window that is neither SDI nor MDI
    By doberkofler in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th April 2010, 07:52
  3. Task Window in Qt
    By doberkofler in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th November 2009, 08:00
  4. Task to another application
    By zlosynus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th August 2008, 10:04
  5. yet another easy task i cant figure out
    By sincnarf in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th October 2007, 05:46

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.