Thread: Display and update variable's value in a label.

Default Display and update variable's value in a label.

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in QT. I've developed a project in vim. Now I want to display what I used to display in a terminal in a user-friendly way in a GUI.
    Simply, I have a set of variables which I need to display in labels in the GUI. I also have couple of variables, whose values should control what should be displayed in the labels.
    I knew that the best way to do this is using signals and slots, right?
    Unfortunately, most of the signals and slots examples describe how to connect a slider with a progress bar, or a button with a label. But I need to know how to display a variable in my main project in a GUI?
    Following is a sample code I can run successfully, and I want to display the variable distance in a label.

Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include "mainwindow.h"
    4. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    5. {
    6. int distance = 4;
    7. distance++;
    9. QApplication a(argc, argv);
    10. MainWindow w;
    11. w.setName("Guided");
    12. w.show();
    14. return a.exec();
    15. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Thanks

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Display and update variable's value in a label.

Hi,
    Most of the time you are not going to be using main.cpp, you want to be doing it in MainWindow.cpp. You do not need signals / slots to set text, unless you are doing something like the examples you looked at. If you added the labels in Creator, you just need to do something like:
    Qt Code:
    1. ui->myLabel->setText(distance);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Thanks for your reply.
    In my program, the variables' values are updated in the main.cpp file, therefore, I think I should update their values in the GUI also in the main.cpp file, right?