Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: setData on SQLite Tables with Multiple Connections

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,233
    Thanks
    303
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: setData on SQLite Tables with Multiple Connections

    people on different computers
    It sounds like you are trying to use SQLite in a client-server mode. It isn't designed for that. You should read this discussion of when to use SQLite vs. a traditional client-server database engine.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Android

    Default Re: setData on SQLite Tables with Multiple Connections

    Thank you d_stranz, I didn't know there was a difference.

    Because the computers I'm working on don't have MySQL I think I can go with ODBC. However, I'm not sure how to go about connecting to the database now. With SQLite, I can simply put db.setDatabaseName(database_location) where database_location is the literal location of the database, but with ODBC, I don't think it doesn't work like that. Any suggestions?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,233
    Thanks
    303
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: setData on SQLite Tables with Multiple Connections

    I think I can go with ODBC.
    ODBC is just an alternative database driver (see here); you still must connect to an actual database engine like MySQL, PostgreSQL, or Microsoft SQLServer. If you continue to use an SQLite-based engine, you'll have the same issues you have now.

    As the article I pointed to in my first post describes, you can develop a client-server system based on SQLite. You have to implement a server that runs on the machine where the database file lives. That server can use SQLite as its DBMS, but that is hidden. It has to wrap access to the database to prevent simultaneous access by remote clients. The remote clients do not use SQLite, but access the server through a network-based protocol.

    If you have only two tables, then you could use a simple protocol like SOAP (there are some Qt SOAP implementations - Google for them) to send SQL queries from client to server and receive replies. You can develop a QAbstractItemModel to map these replies into something you can display in table views in your clients.

    It might be easier to just use a true concurrent client-server DBMS.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 6th December 2010, 04:41
  2. Multiple database connections
    By Matt31415 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th June 2010, 10:32
  3. Multiple database connections
    By cyberboy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th March 2008, 16:56
  4. Qt on X11 with multiple display connections?
    By grenoble in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th February 2008, 12:44
  5. Multiple connections to one method
    By davisjamesf in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th November 2007, 20:11

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.