Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: QCryptographicHash matching from multiple computer images

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default QCryptographicHash matching from multiple computer images

    I have a strange problem. I am dealing with a server that is connected to several computers without hard drives in them, they each run off their own image from the server. They have a virtual shared drive on the server. I have to run a copy of a program on each computer that needs a password and the QCryptographicHash generated password is stored in a file on the shared drive. If I understand QCryptographicHash correctly, the hash created from the password is going to be different on each computer. How can I set it up so that the hash for a specific password generated in each computer is the same for all the computers? The password has to be the same for all the computers. In other words the hashes created from each computer for a specific password needs to be the same no matter which computer it is generated from, otherwise it won't match the one in the shared file. Using programs from different vendors is impossible because it's a secure system and only a limited number of programs are authorized to be installed, of which one of the few are internally generated programs that use Qt (Thank God). From what I understand, it originally took over a year to get Qt approved (that was before my time), that's how strict it is. I hope this made sense, I'm not good at explaining things in text messages.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    406
    Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QCryptographicHash matching from multiple computer images

    A hash function will produce the same output on every computer. Don't know where you've the information from that this should not be the case. Otherwise nothing in the internet would work.

Similar Threads

  1. Download Multiple Images From Google
    By sufyane68 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th May 2015, 14:26
  2. QML - load multiple Images simultaneously
    By huilui in forum Qt Quick
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th January 2015, 21:15
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st October 2013, 09:56
  4. multiple images in style sheet
    By CopyrightPhilly in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd October 2007, 18:28
  5. Display multiple Images in a widget
    By jeetu_happy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th March 2007, 12:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.