Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Problem with a makefile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Post Problem with a makefile

    I tried to run a project with 2 source files and a header file and there was some kind of problem with the linking (as the modules compile successfully separately). Moreover, the files were from a Qt tutorial so they should work...
    So I thought I'd create a makefile and then use make (btw i use mingw make). So eventually I created the makefile with qmake and then when I typed make in the command line I got this error message: "mingw32-make:*** No targets specified and no makefile found.Stop.". Then I tried make -f makefile and it said: "makefile:65:*** multiple target patterns. Stop.". And from this point on I didn't know what else to do.
    Other technical details: I use Windows XP, Qt 4.1, MinGW 5.0.2

    I will attach the makefile and maybe someone will spot the problem.
    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Your Makefile doesn't contain any rules that generate code --- your .pro file must be wrong. Could you post it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Yep sure. Here it is:
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Add "TEMPLATE = app", run "qmake QTapp.pro" and then make.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    I get the same error message....
    Could it be a problem with MinGW?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    What files do you have in your project directory?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    The files in the project directory are: lcdrange.h, lcdrange.cpp and main.cpp.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    I eventually got to a more radical solution: I just deleted the lines in the makefile from line 65 to the end and it worked . But it's still kind of a mystery why it wouldn't work in the first place.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    qmake generates paths that contain colons; Since microsoft operating systems have paths with the syntax drive:path the colon is interpreted by make as a separator instead of being part of the path.

    The problem is either in your version of make(because it doesn't interpret that colon as expected) or in qmake because it generates a bad Makefile.

    It's strange that you are using mingw which is said to be supported by open source Qt.

    Maybe you should try with make from MSYS but still I don't understand why it doesn't work with mingw32-make.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Quote Originally Posted by Tweety
    The files in the project directory are: lcdrange.h, lcdrange.cpp and main.cpp.
    Where is the .pro file?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Quote Originally Posted by ovidiu.sabou
    Maybe you should try with make from MSYS but still I don't understand why it doesn't work with mingw32-make.
    There are some problems with MSYS. Anyway, Qt4 should work without any problems with MinGW and cmd.exe.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Quote Originally Posted by jacek
    Where is the .pro file?
    The .pro file is in the exact same directory.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Quote Originally Posted by Tweety
    The .pro file is in the exact same directory.
    This is really strange. How do you invoke qmake? What is the current directory?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    I invoke qmake with "qmake -o Makefile QTapp.pro" in the directory where the .pro file is located.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Did you try deleting Makefile before running qmake?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    I tried not to use the make that came with mingw and instead I used the make in CodeBlocks and it works. So I guess something was wrong with mingw make...
    Anyway, at least it works now, so I can start "playing" with Qt

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with a makefile

    Quote Originally Posted by Tweety
    I tried not to use the make that came with mingw and instead I used the make in CodeBlocks and it works. So I guess something was wrong with mingw make...
    Anyway, at least it works now, so I can start "playing" with Qt
    If you don't have two installations of MinGW then Code::Blocks is using the same "make" executable you invoked from the command line.
    Quote Originally Posted by wysota
    Did you try deleting Makefile before running qmake?
    Most probably that was the issue. If I do qmake -spec linux-g++ and then qmake -spec linux-icc I get the gcc Makefile again , I have to manually delete it to get the one for icc.
    Last edited by yop; 15th February 2006 at 19:39.

Similar Threads

  1. makefile missing separator problem
    By terrywb in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th May 2009, 13:49
  2. Weird problem: multithread QT app kills my linux
    By Ishark in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th August 2008, 09:12
  3. Steps in solving a programming problem?
    By triperzonak in forum General Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th August 2008, 08:47
  4. not able to change Makefile
    By shamik in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th June 2007, 12:00
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th March 2006, 20:22

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.