Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: OpenSSL 1.1.1 does not work in my application on Windows 10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Craiova, Romania
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question OpenSSL 1.1.1 does not work in my application on Windows 10

    Dear community,

    I am the author of a free software application named FET.

    I am fetching a file with https from my server.

    Using Qt 5.12.3 and below I copied the files ssleay32.dll and libeay32.dll in the same directory as fet.exe and it worked.

    Using the new Qt 5.13.0 I copied the files libcrypto-1_1-x64.dll and libssl-1_1-x64.dll in the same directory as fet.exe (my application is compiled for 64 bit). On another computer with Windows 7 it works, on two computers with Windows 10 (on which I installed previously Qt 5.12.3, maybe this is the reason?) it says it does not load the SSL libraries and does not work.

    On GNU/Linux it works OK.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,448
    Thanked 271 Times in 266 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: OpenSSL 1.1.1 does not work in my application on Windows 10

    Windows 10 have built in OpenSSH client. Maybe this is the cause of some conflict.

  3. The following user says thank you to Lesiok for this useful post:

    lalesculiviu (20th June 2019)

  4. #3

    Default Re: OpenSSL 1.1.1 does not work in my application on Windows 10

    https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-62637 this suggests to me, that, at least for visual studio builds, Qt no longer uses (as of 5.13) openssl for ssl, but rather windows ssl directly. Hence, copying the dlls would likely not doing anymore, except maybe for mingw builds? In either case, at the bottom, "...It's a new feature in 5.13. You have to configure Qt properly though (it's not enabled by default on Windows)." I really wish this was explained further, but maybe suggests why it does not work "out of the box" either. If it had, you probably would not have noticed the openssl dll's weren't being used. Maybe there is a better/more complete explanation of how ssl works on windows on Qt 5.13, and whether this is true for both mingw and msvc, but I did not find it offhand.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Craiova, Romania
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: OpenSSL 1.1.1 does not work in my application on Windows 10

    Thank you for the reply. I am using MinGW 7.3.0 supplied with Qt 5.13.0 online package.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Craiova, Romania
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: OpenSSL 1.1.1 does not work in my application on Windows 10

    I managed to get it working by compiling Qt from the sources with "configure.bat -schannel ...". It even doesn't need the OpenSSL dll's anymore, which is even better.

Similar Threads

  1. Compiling static for Windows with OpenSSL
    By manekineko in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 23rd March 2012, 22:13
  2. How to Building Qt with OpenSSL support using the Windows SDK
    By josecarlosmissias in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th October 2011, 06:48
  3. windows 7 + mingw + qt 4.x + qca 2.x + openssl 0.98
    By jm in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st June 2010, 08:50
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st May 2010, 15:10
  5. Qt for Windows CE with OpenSSL support
    By Jonas in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th February 2010, 07:36

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.