Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Doubt large-scale project qt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Android

    Default Doubt large-scale project qt

    Hello, first of all I would like to apologize in case the question is already resolved in some thread.
    I am carrying out a project with visual basic and would like to do the interface with Qt 5.9 and QML 2. It is the first time that I use qt and qml and therefore I have doubts and problems.
    The first thing I wanted to comment is if there is a good tutorial anywhere where I explain: how to structure the project, how to integrate it with what I already have from visual basic and how to configure it.
    Above all I want to know how to configure it correctly with qt 5.9 and QML2 for all possible platforms (This section is where more problems arise with tutorials that I have found through the internet) and it is very important that it is a large project and therefore I need a good structuring so much.
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,188
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked 666 Times in 656 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: Doubt large-scale project qt

    As far as I know there is no way to use Qt with or without the QML layer as the UI for a Visual Basic application. VB is Basic, Qt is C++. If there was COM API for Qt, then you could use it that way, but there is no such thing.

    The only links I see on Google discuss porting VB code to C++.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Android

    Default Re: Doubt large-scale project qt

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    As far as I know there is no way to use Qt with or without the QML layer as the UI for a Visual Basic application. VB is Basic, Qt is C++. If there was COM API for Qt, then you could use it that way, but there is no such thing.

    The only links I see on Google discuss porting VB code to C++.
    This part aside, would there be any structuring / organization and configuration tutorials?
    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,420
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,545 Times in 1,495 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Doubt large-scale project qt

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    If there was COM API for Qt, then you could use it that way, but there is no such thing.
    https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/activeqt-index.html

    But long term a rewrite might be the best solution in any case.

    Cheers,
    _

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,188
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked 666 Times in 656 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: Doubt large-scale project qt

    If there was COM API for Qt, then you could use it that way, but there is no such thing.
    My interpretation of the OP's question was that he wanted to use Qt from within his VB application. The ActiveQt framework is the other way around - you use Qt to host COM / ActiveX controls, not use VB as a host for Qt widgets. This is what I meant by "no COM API for Qt".

    This part aside, would there be any structuring / organization and configuration tutorials?
    Qt distributions come with a huge set of examples and tutorials and the Qt documentation is extensive. Structuring a large Qt application is no different from structuring an application written in any object-oriented framework: separate the business logic from the UI, and separate the data model from both.

    For my personal practices, my apps are all large - hundreds of thousands of lines of code - and are written such that application logic and data structures are in plain, vanilla C++ and Qt is used only for user interaction, visualization, and (via the Model/View Framework) mapping between internal data structures and the UI.

    Others prefer to take advantage of Qt's reimplementation of much of the C++ Standard Library and other core libraries and write everything using Qt.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  6. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    jm3dina (31st August 2019)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th September 2013, 08:50
  2. qwt log scale Y and linear scale X
    By Annihilator in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st December 2012, 11:01
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th January 2011, 03:42
  4. Sending large datagrams(very large)
    By marcel in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th February 2008, 22:55
  5. doubt
    By AnithaRagupathy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th February 2008, 07:06

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.