Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: QMapControl

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default QMapControl

    I am developing a mapping widget for Qtopia (also running under Qt). This widget allows you to add maps into your applications. The maps can be loaded from WMS servers or (my favourite) from the OpenStreetMap project. Then you can add your custom data into the maps. You can add Points, Lines, etc. to specific coordinates. Also you can display other widgets on coordinates.

    For further information please visit the project website: http://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol


  2. The following user says thank you to rage for this useful post:

    answerboy (25th February 2010)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    This is VERY interesting.
    We will need such a widget in our project, and I was afraid we will have to implement it ourselves (time problems!)
    So, in the following months we will try it, and you will probably hear from us :-)
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    I just tried the win32 version, and it says that it can't find (linker scrambled): "qt_message_output9QtMsgTypePKc" in QtCore4.Dll".
    I put the dll at the same folder as the exe, it it should not be a case of a missing dll. (Qt4.3.2)
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: QMapControl

    I've compiled it with Qt 4.3.1. I don't know if this might be a problem. I uploaded my DLLs, maybe this works.
    http://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol/download/libs.rar

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    yes it works with the binaries you supplied...
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Hi,

    I need to display raster maps in my application, i am using Qt 4.2.2.
    can i directly use the API's provided in this site mentioned above.
    Can you suggest how to use the APIs to display any raster map on a normal Qt widget?

    Looking forward to your response

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: QMapControl

    I've replied to your mail.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Its a very interesting proyect! It is like the Google Maps Lib but for applications!
    Rage, does the programm tells shortes-path from point to point, or do some kind of path-finding? It could be an excellent idea also (More difficult) if the programm can search for different sort of transports so you can see wether if you can go via bus to some point.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Hmm, that could be possible, if somebody implements it... The widget is a good base to develop such an application. To calculate routes for instance, webservices from openstreetmap can be used. Their API provides to get "geometry information" and therewith a possibility to calculate routes....
    The widget as is just displays map tiles and additional things like lines, points, images, other widgets...

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Hi,
    I would need to use such a nice widget with raster or vector files in an offline application. Is it possible ? Any help is welcome.

    Thx,
    Cedric.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Currently it is only possible to display pre-rendered map tiles from map providers like OpenStreetMap. QMapControl allows to cache tiles persistently but this might not be the best solution for you.
    It should be possible to display vector graphics whose underlying data could be stored local. But I have not planned to implement this feature. Maybe someone else is willing to do this.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    1

    Default Re: QMapControl

    这个东西太好了!!!

  14. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Hello. Vey intersting project, i'm really want to use it in my application, but i want to know is it possible to use Map tiles which stored lacaly, i'm only intersting OpenStreetMap.
    If possible how to do it?

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Hi Migel,

    you can use the function enablePersistentCache to store map tiles locally. But there is currently no script to initialize the cache with a map region automatically. So you have to browse manually through the area which you want to be cached.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Thank you for answer, is it i'm right to understand i can download osm file area which i want to use (for example Moscow Region, Russia) from openstreetmap and after that load it use enablePersistentCache?
    Or first time i conecting with server and after that i'll cache region which are intersting for me, and in next start application i can load it from cache

    //! Enable persistent caching of map tiles
    /*!
    * Call this method to allow the QMapControl widget to save map tiles
    * persistent (also over application restarts).
    * Tiles are stored in the subdirectory "QMapControl.cache" within the
    * user's home directory. This can be changed by giving a path.
    * @param path the path to the cache directory
    */
    void enablePersistentCache ( const QDir& path=QDir::homePath() + "/QMapControl.cache" );
    Last edited by migel1976; 30th May 2010 at 13:17.

  17. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Correct

  18. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    I would love to see something like this that works in a QGraphicsScene.

  19. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    691
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QMapControl

    Hi,
    can I have a small example to display a raster static map ( tif file ) ?
    Regards
    Franco Amato

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.