Thread: Memory Allocation in C and Java

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Memory Allocation in C and Java

Hello Everyone, I am a beginner and I am working on my first freelance project. I want to know which programming language is good for memory allocation between C and java? Yesterday I search on google to find it and According to this post, In order to do memory allocation in C, functions like malloc(), calloc(), etc. can be used but there is no ‘new’ keyword in C. Java supports threading but not sure about Java programming. Can anyone know about this?

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Memory Allocation in C and Java

This is an extremely basic question, and it seems to me that you need to learn a lot more about programming before you are ready for a freelance project.

C and Java are completely different languages, both in concept and in use. C is a compiled language, most Java implementations are interpreted code at run time or use a just-in-time byte code compiler.

C is a functional programming language, based on data structures, pointers, and function calls. In C, you must allocate and manage memory using the low level calls malloc, calloc, realloc, free, etc. If every call to allocate memory is not matched with a call to free it, you will have a memory leak. If you try to use a pointer to memory before you allocate it or after you free it, your program will crash. C has no protection to ensure that you do not access memory beyond the end of an array or overwrite memory that is being used by some other data structure.