Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    149
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    I installed Qt 6.5 in Debian and created a custom widget (plugin) with Qt Creator. Where should I copy the compiled .so file so that Qt Designer can see it among the widgets ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,229
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    https://doc.qt.io/qtcreator/adding-plugins.html

    It is considered rude to post the same question to multiple forums.

    Capture.PNG
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    149
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Thumbs up Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    I've seen this document before, but it's inaccurate as it doesn't exist in /opt/Qt/6.5.0/gcc_64/bin/plugins/designer. Instead, it exists in /opt/Qt/6.5.0/gcc_64/plugins/designer/
    I put my .so plugin in the folder but in Qt Designer going from the menu: Tools > Form Editor... > About Qt Designer Plugins the copied plugin is not displayed, even by refreshing.


    Added after 1 14 minutes:


    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    It is considered rude to post the same question to multiple forums.
    I apologize
    Last edited by giorgik; 14th May 2023 at 20:43.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,229
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    Have you searched from "/" to see if there are any other Qt directories? Or alternatively, have you executed "which designer" to find the executable's location?
    Last edited by d_stranz; 15th May 2023 at 18:24.
    <=== The Great Pumpkin says ===>
    Please use CODE tags when posting source code so it is more readable. Click "Go Advanced" and then the "#" icon to insert the tags. Paste your code between them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    149
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Thumbs down Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    I'm giving up, I've tried them all, I've also tried again on Windows 10 and nothing has been resolved. I'm bored with Qt, they don't know how to set up a precise environment, with the right versions for its tools.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,536
    Thanked 284 Times in 279 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    QtCreator uses its own Qt and QtDesigner package. Place your files in the <Qt parent directory>/QtCreator/lib/Qt/plugins/designer directory.

  7. The following user says thank you to Lesiok for this useful post:

    d_stranz (16th May 2023)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    149
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Thumbs up Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lesiok View Post
    QtCreator uses its own Qt and QtDesigner package. Place your files in the <Qt parent directory>/QtCreator/lib/Qt/plugins/designer directory.
    In my Debian 11 distribution qtcreator (Qt 5.15.2) is installed in several places:
    /usr/bin/qtcreator

    qmake:
    /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/bin/qmake

    designer:
    /usr/lib/qt5/bin/

    So where should I put the plugin in question ?
    Last edited by giorgik; 16th May 2023 at 23:18. Reason: updated contents

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,536
    Thanked 284 Times in 279 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    I basically work under Windows but show the structure of the /usr/bin/qtcreator directory.
    P.S.
    In Qt Creator choose from menu : Help -> System Information.
    In section Library Info You can see where is located Qt used by Qt Creator.
    Last edited by Lesiok; 17th May 2023 at 08:08.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    149
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Thumbs up Re: Where to install plugins created with Qt 6.5 in Debian ?

    Thanks for the advice, I'll try to see from the menu. I did as you told me. I am attaching the document in question
    cartelle_Qt.txt
    so where ? I found: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/plugins/designer/
    I put my plugin in the correct folder that I listed here, and here's what I see:
    Istantanea_mio_plugin.jpg
    Qt Code:
    1. Failed to extract plugin metadata...
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    What did I do wrong in creating the plugin ?
    Last edited by giorgik; 17th May 2023 at 13:16. Reason: updated contents

Similar Threads

  1. QWT install Debian and qwt-6.1.2 fails
    By MrPorcine in forum Qwt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st May 2016, 20:54
  2. requires to install plugins to play media files
    By RolandHughes in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd June 2015, 16:56
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd August 2013, 12:39
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th March 2011, 11:30
  5. [WinCE 6] How to install Qt and plugins ?
    By KroMignon in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th July 2010, 09:27

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.