Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Failed to create fragment programs.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Failed to create fragment programs.

    Hi all,

    "QOpenGLPaintEngine: Failed to create fragment programs."

    When doing OpenGL in my application, I get this error/warning. The dialog seems to render correctly still, but can anyone provide any insight as to why this is happening?

    Thanks,
    Jee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Failed to create fragment programs.

    yes, it means your openGL code is trying to run a fragment shader, but fails to run the shader program.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Failed to create fragment programs.

    Qt probably tried to use some optimized code but failed to do that because of the lack of support in your hardware. This is probably only a warning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Failed to create fragment programs.

    please disregard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Failed to create fragment programs.

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    Qt probably tried to use some optimized code but failed to do that because of the lack of support in your hardware. This is probably only a warning.
    Ok, here's some more info:

    I have a class derived from QGLWidget, and I am creating a QPainter in its paintEvent() function. Most of the time this works, but every so often, I get the Failed warning. This occurs when I create the QPainter object with "this" (the QGLWidget's child class) as the paramter. Does this ring a bell with anyone?

    BTW, my hardware is about a year old, and should support Fragment Programs.

    Jeeman

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Failed to create fragment programs.

    Try the Qt 4.3 demo. See if you get similar messages.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.