Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Qt 3.2 on Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Lightbulb Qt 3.2 on Windows

    I recently bought to book C++ GUI Programming With Qt 3 and included with it was a CD-ROM. The CD contained the NonCommercial version of Qt 3 for Windows and the Borland compiler.

    Well I installed Borland at F:\Borland\BCC55 and Qt at F:\Qt\3.2.1NonCommercial and the program folder Qt 3.2.1 Non-Commercial. When the installer tries to make the examples I get this error:
    Qt is now configured for building. Just run make.
    To reconfigure, run make clean and configure.
    Could not start make process.
    Make sure that your compiler tools are installed
    and registered correctly in your PATH environment.
    I made a file at F:\Borland\BCC55\bin\bcc32.cfg:
    Qt Code:
    1. -I"F:\Borland\BCC55\include"
    2. -L"F:\Borland\BCC55\lib"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    And F:\Borland\BCC55\bin\ilink32.cfg:
    Qt Code:
    1. -L"F:\Borland\BCC55\lib"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    But I still get that "error".

    What exactly am I doing wrong?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Why are you using borland for?
    Do you even need to program in qt3?

    I suggest going to TT site and downloading Qt 4.3.1 Open Source. It comes with mingw(gcc) and it is already compiled.

    Regards

  3. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    xryancat (12th August 2007)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    I don't know; it's just what came with the book.

    I'm downloading the file you suggested right now. I already have Ubuntu installed on my machine, but I wanted Qt on my Windows install also.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Well, if you're just starting with Qt and you don't specifically need Qt3 then it is better to use the last version.
    It has all the new things.

    Regards

  6. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    xryancat (12th August 2007)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    I got everything installed and I'm now trying to build my first application, this is the code:
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <qapplication.h>
    2. #include <qlabel.h>
    3.  
    4. int main( int argc, char *argv[] )
    5. {
    6. QApplication app( argc, argv );
    7. QLabel *label = new QLabel( "Hello QT!", 0 );
    8.  
    9. label->show();
    10. return app.exec();
    11. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    When I try to run the exe I got the error about needing certain dll's. So I put QtGui4.dll mingwm10.dll and QtCore4.dll in the same directory as the exe, and now I get this error:
    The procedure entry point _ZN7QString16fromAscii_helperEPKci could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCore4.dll
    Do I need even MORE dependancies for such a simple application?

    Thanks for your help, mate! :-)

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    No, all you have to do is to set the environment variables.
    Go to computer properties, Advanced tab, and press Environment variables.
    In user variables add two new vars:
    1) QTDIR
    This will point to your qt installation ( for example c:\qt\4.3.1 )

    2) PATH
    Set its value to %QTDIR%\bin;%PATH%.

    The cause for your problem could be that you compiled the application with debug info, while those libraries are the release ones.

    BTW, what happens if you try to run the Qt examples?

    Regards

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    I fixed the things you said; they were previously set to Qt 3.1 settings.

    But the application still gives the same error.

    I don't think I've changed anything else. QMAKESPEC is still set to win32-borland.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Yes, you also have to change QMAKESPEC to win32-g++(still an environment variable).

    Try uninstalling whatever you installed from that CD that came with the book. Maybe you have some conflicts.

    Then rebuild the application.

    Regards

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    I changed QMAKESPEC, and I've already uninstalled Qt 3.2, but Borland was still installed. It doesn't have an uninstaller so I physically deleted it's main folder.

    I ran qmake and make again, but the error persists.

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    OK. can you post the .pro file for your application?

    BTW, the basic steps for compiling an application are:
    - run qmake -project in the application directory: it will generate the project file
    - run qmake again: it will generate the makefiles
    - run make. this will compile your application, based on the makefile matching the target set in the pro file

    Regards
    Last edited by marcel; 12th August 2007 at 01:57.

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    ################################################## ####################
    # Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Sat Aug 11 18:46:56 2007
    ################################################## ####################

    TEMPLATE = app
    TARGET =
    DEPENDPATH += .
    INCLUDEPATH += .

    # Input
    SOURCES += hello.cpp
    There you go.

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Have you deleted the libraries from the application directory?

    Because it is not normal.
    It should work.

    Regards

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    When I delete them it asks for mingwm10.dll again.

  16. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    But I don't think you added the mingw bin directory to your path.

  17. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    What do you mean? My environmental variable PATH is set to %QTDIR%\bin;%PATH%
    Like you said.

    If that's not what you ment could you please tell me how to change this?

  18. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Assuming that you installed mingw in C:\mingw, then your path var should look like:
    %QTDIR%\bin;C:\mingw\bin;%PATH%

  19. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    I changed the PATH variable accordingly. It now reads
    %QTDIR%\bin;F:\MinGw\bin;%PATH%
    (I have my default drive set to F: instead of C:).

    But it still says the mingwm10.dll is missing.

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Edit your pro file and add the following:
    CONFIG += release qt windows

    Then run qmake( for the make files) and rebuild.

    Regards

  21. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    The error still comes up. Is it a problem this comes up when I run make?
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `F:/Documents and Settings/Admin/My Document
    s/hello'
    mingw32-make[1]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `F:/Documents and Settings/Admin/My Documents
    /hello'

  22. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 3.2 on Windows

    Run a "make clean" and then "make".

    But still, it should find the mingwm10.dll. I have no explanation for that.

    Regards
    Last edited by marcel; 12th August 2007 at 03:01.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th February 2007, 01:23
  2. converting unix exe to windows binary
    By deekayt in forum General Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th September 2006, 02:00
  3. Experience using KDevelop with Cygwin under windows
    By high_flyer in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th September 2006, 17:50
  4. qt and mingw can not run on windows 98?
    By evewei in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th June 2006, 10:22
  5. MDI windows without QWorkspace
    By Big Duck in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th June 2006, 18:15

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.