Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: No Manifest

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default No Manifest

    Hi all,
    is there a way to specify that I don't want to use a manifest for my window app?
    Having MANIFESTFILE:NO.
    I tried CONFIG += embed_manifest_exe but I'd need to avoid using the manifest.
    I checked that doc but I couldn't find.
    thanks for any help in advance

    bye

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    What is the reason for avoiding a manifest?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    thanks for answering,

    well to mkae sure there are no incompatibility
    myapp.exe.manifest
    and
    Microsoft.VC80.CRT.manifest

    using embed_manifest_exe, I don't have any change in the use of the Manifest, because cheking the generated project in the linker settings it keeps using
    /MANIFEST /MANIFESTFILE:"..\.tmp\myapp\obj_release\\myapp.exe .intermediate.manifest"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    If you won't use the manifest generated by Qt for your application, how do you expect the application to work? Get rid of the Microsoft manifest and use the one provided by Qt if you expect incompatibilities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    thanks again,
    so you suggest to use embed_manifest_exe option in the pro file?
    What I found is that the myapp.exe.intermediate.manifest used (with or without embed_manifest_exe option) has a wrong version...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    So, my question is :
    is there a way to avoid embedding the intermediate manifest ancd then specify a myapp.manifest as a separate file?
    So something in the pro that will make the generated visual studio solution with
    /MANIFEST:NO

    thanks again

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    What happens if you compile your project only with qmake and nmake (without using Visual Studio at all)?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    I got the manifest embedded the same, I can see with a resource editor and I can manually remove it, but I'd like to do that during the normal compilation.
    thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    What do you mean by "normal compilation"? If you mess with Visual Studio then it has nothing to do with Qt, so doing any changes within qmake project won't make a difference.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    No mess, just generate the project from the .pro file and then build.
    I'd only need a way to put
    /MANIFESTFILE:NO
    in the Linking options, and I thought this could be done in the .pro file, probably is a default Visual Studio settings...
    Don't know how to change it anyway...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: No Manifest

    Try adding:
    QMAKE_LFLAGS += /MANIFESTFILE:NO
    (or QMAKE_LFLAGS_RELEASE) to your .pro file.
    J-P Nurmi

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    thanks, I tried that, but the manifest is embedded the same.
    I see in the additional options /MANIFESTFILE:NO but in the "All options" there's /MANIFEST /MANIFESTFILE:"..\.tmp\beta\obj_release\\beta.exe.i ntermediate.manifest

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    I even tried to remove
    embed_manifest_dll
    embed_manifest_exe
    in file qmake.conf in folder Qt\4.3.0\mkspecs\win32-msvc2005 but the manifest is generated the same....

    any idea?

    thanks

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    But WHY do you want to remove the manifest in the first place? As far as I know it's required for your application to run.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    you can specify it in a separate file not embedded

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    But what is the point of doing that? I mean why in this particular case you want to avoid embedding the manifest? (I assume you already tried CONFIG-=embed_manifest_exe).

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    Yes I tried CONFIG-=embed_manifest_exe and the manifest is generated the same.
    I managed to replace the default manifest by using mt.exe, but it would be better to have the chance to do that from the pro file.
    Apparently CONFIG-=embed_manifest_exe doesn't work, qt bug?
    thanks

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    As far as I understand the whole concept, the manifest will always be generated. It's just a matter of embedding it into the binary or not. The docs say embed_manifest_exe is not turned on by default, so unless you turned it on yourself, it shouldn't be active (contrary to embed_manifest_dll).

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    16
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: No Manifest

    ok, that's exactly what I'm saying.
    I think that removing embed_manifest_exe should trigger /MANIFEST:NO in the soulution generated, but it's not like that.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: No Manifest

    I say you don't have to remove it, just don't add it... It's not turned on by default. I asked you to run plain qmake, nmake combination (without going through VS solution) at the beginning to see if everything works fine. You can even make a new project from scratch (qmake -project) first to make sure no alien directives are placed into the project file. In this case the manifest shouldn't be embedded (at least according to the docs), but it should get generated (which seems fine).

    And please, could you say WHY you want to get rid of the manifest generated by Qt?

    BTW. The manifest is generated by qmake according to these rules:
    win32-msvc2005:!equals(TEMPLATE_PREFIX, "vc"):equals(TEMPLATE, "app") {
    QMAKE_LFLAGS += $$quote(/MANIFESTFILE:\"$${OBJECTS_DIR}\\$${TARGET}.interme diate.manifest\")
    QMAKE_PREV_POST_LINK = $$QMAKE_POST_LINK
    QMAKE_POST_LINK = $$quote(mt.exe -nologo -manifest \"$${OBJECTS_DIR}\\$${TARGET}.intermediate.manifes t\" -outputresource: $(DESTDIR_TARGET);1$$escape_expand(\n\t))
    QMAKE_POST_LINK += $$QMAKE_PREV_POST_LINK
    }
    You can remove the directive from the project file and add those of the above mentioned commands which you need directly into your project file.

Similar Threads

  1. Application Plugins in Windows [XP]
    By dcurtis in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 03:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.