Thread: Best way to debug

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Cool Best way to debug

Hi to all!!
    I'm new in Qt4. What do you think about debugging Qt?
    Which is the best way for yoy?

Bye Manuel

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: Best way to debug

Make sure you have Qt compiled in debug mode, then add "CONFIG += debug console" to your .pro file and watch the console for any messages.

If you use MinGW, download gdb.

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

There is a graphical front-end to gdb called Insight, but it's pretty buggy.

If you're used to debugging in Visual C++, VB, or C#, prepare to be disappointed using gdb.
    Plan? There ain't no plan!

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Quote Originally Posted by rh
    If you're used to debugging in Visual C++, VB, or C#, prepare to be disappointed using gdb.
    Is it that good? I've never used MSVS and I'm pretty happy with gdb (but then I haven't seen anything better than that)

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Quote Originally Posted by yop
    Is it that good? I've never used MSVS and I'm pretty happy with gdb (but then I haven't seen anything better than that)
    Like anything in a programmer's life, it depends on what type of application you're coding, what your coding habbits are, your frustration threshold, and what you're generally used to using.