Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: stray character in gcc output

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 53 Times in 40 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default stray character in gcc output

    I am actually having this problem since many days. Whenever i compile any file, the warnings and errors surround some keywords of warning with â character.
    Here is sample output(deliberately committed compile error)

    mixin.cpp:33: error: request for member âappendâ in âmixin1â, which is of non-class type âintâ
    mixin.cpp:34: error: request for member âappendâ in âmixin2â, which is of non-class type âintâ
    mixin.cpp:35: error: request for member âfindâ in âmixin1â, which is of non-class type âintâ
    mixin.cpp:36: error: âcoutâ was not declared in this scope
    mixin.cpp:36: error: invalid types âint[int]â for array subscript
    mixin.cpp:36: error: âendlâ was not declared in this scope
    mixin.cpp:37: error: request for member âgetStampâ in âmixin1â, which is of non-class type âintâ
    I really don't know how to solve this problem as i don't know where the problem exists. Googling didn't help much either. The manpage of stty also didn't lead me anywhere. Can somebody help me?

    I am using kubuntu - feisty.
    The biggest difference between time and space is that you can't reuse time.
    -- Merrick Furst

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: stray character in gcc output

    It looks like a font or encoding problem. Does this happen on both the text terminal (like after pressing Ctrl+Alt+F1) and graphical terminal (like Konsole)?

  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Gopala Krishna (13th October 2007)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: stray character in gcc output

    See the two replies on this post:
    http://cygwin.com/ml/cygwin-xfree/2006-10/msg00026.html

    It seems to be a problem with shells that don't support unicode.

  5. The following user says thank you to marcel for this useful post:

    Gopala Krishna (13th October 2007)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 53 Times in 40 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: stray character in gcc output

    Thanks a lot for the hint, Marcel and Wysota

    I changed the konsole's encoding to utf-8 and it worked perfect. I also tried "export LC_ALL=C" in the text terminal (yeah, the problem was reflected here too) and it worked too

    I never thought the solution was this simple
    Is the C locale supposed to be the default (whats on your system ) ?
    The biggest difference between time and space is that you can't reuse time.
    -- Merrick Furst

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: stray character in gcc output

    C Locale should be considered the fallback. It's the default for non-localized environments. For me the default is pl_PL (type in "locale" to see all the locale related environment variables).

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: stray character in gcc output

    For me it will be the default . I'm installing Linux right now.

Similar Threads

  1. QT MySQL
    By sabeeshcs in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th January 2007, 04:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.