Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Qt assistant under linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Qt assistant under linux

    Hi,

    a Qt book told me that there is an assistant for the documentation, I just should call "assistant" from the command line. This doens't work, I've searched my whole hard drive and couldn't find any command "assistant". I've searched my installed packages, I believe that the assistant should be included in "qt3-devel-tools". This package is installed. Any idea how to call the assistant? (Suse Linux 10.0, KDE 3.5, in case it matters).

    Thanks.

    Jochen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    Alt+F2 -> /usr/lib/qt3/bin/assistant
    Better add /usr/lib/qt3/bin in your PATH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    Hi,

    that is missing on my box... (I've double checked on another computer with Suse 9.3, that's fine). Strange why it is missing on Suse 10.0.

    Anyone an idea which package might be missing? Or anyone running Suse 10.0 who can confirm the problem or knows the solution?

    Regads,
    Jochen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    Sorry I'm using custom built Qt 3.3.5 on Suse 9.1
    I can only suggest to open Yast and search for the Qt packages

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    Quote Originally Posted by jochen_r
    Hi,

    that is missing on my box... (I've double checked on another computer with Suse 9.3, that's fine). Strange why it is missing on Suse 10.0.

    Anyone an idea which package might be missing? Or anyone running Suse 10.0 who can confirm the problem or knows the solution?
    The name may differ (it might be for example assistant-qt3). Try "locate assistant". If you have it installed it'll give you a path to it. If not, it means you don't have it and need to install an appropriate package.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    On my SuSE 10.0 system I installed Qt 3 through YaST (assistant is provided by qt3-devel-tools) and the assistant is located at /usr/lib/qt3/bin/assistant for me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    Can you give us a list of files in your $QTDIR/bin, e.g. enter

    Qt Code:
    1. ls /usr/lib/qt3/bin
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    in a command prompt and post the output here.
    It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    designer
    findtr
    linguist
    lrelease
    lupdate
    mergetr
    moc
    msg2qm
    qconfig
    qmts
    qmake
    qt20fix
    qtconfig
    qtrenamel40

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt assistant under linux

    As I know SuSE is RPM-based distro.
    So
    Qt Code:
    1. $ rpm -qf /usr/bin/designer
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    should give you name of PRM package with Qt developer's tools (in my case it is qt-devel-3.3.5-11.0.fc3.kde)

    Next step:
    Qt Code:
    1. $ rpm -V qt-devel
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    If your file was somehow lost you'll get a message.

    Alternate way is use
    Qt Code:
    1. $ rpm -ql qt-devel | less
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    for list all files from package.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2009, 09:03
  2. qt assistant on linux
    By alisami in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd October 2008, 15:27
  3. Weird problem: multithread QT app kills my linux
    By Ishark in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th August 2008, 09:12
  4. Qt Assistant path
    By aamer4yu in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st February 2007, 14:23

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.