View Poll Results: Are you a professional programmer?

Voters
189. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

118 62.43%
  • No

71 37.57%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Are you a professional programmer?

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Are you a professional programmer?

For pure curiousness. Are you a professional programmer? I mean is it your job? And when have you started your journey with programming?
    Regards
    13 of September - Programmer Day

Thanks
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

Default Re: Are you a professional programmer?

I wrote my first "hello world" application in 2001 when I started studying information technology at Tampere university of technology. I've been working as a software designer since April 2005. I met Qt about two years ago after we took it into use in a new project at work. I fell in love, immediately..
    J-P Nurmi

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Smile Re: Are you a professional programmer?

I started back in the 80s with an Atari ST and OmicronBasic at the age of 14.
    It was just cool to say: Yes I can write computer programs!

9 years a started my career as a professional software developer, software engineer, system designer, system architect ..... buzz-word-bingo

Since 2 years I'm self employed and develop cross-platform and distributed software for mid-size companies using linux (debian & kubuntu), windows, ZeroC ICE and - of course - Qt.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Jeez! Am I the only fellow over there to whom programming remain just a hobby?

I doubt anyone care but here's how I caught the virus :