Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: phonon on QT4.4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Unhappy phonon on QT4.4

    I HOPE I AM IN THE RIGHT FORUM

    i was referred by the phonon (KDE MULTIMEDIA) mailing list to this website

    i have been jumping around websites asking them for help about this issue

    i really want a detailed solution

    here is the problem
    ------------------------
    My system specifications:

    Windows XP professional
    Microsoft DirectX SDK (March 2008)
    WinXP Platform SDK
    Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
    QT4.4 BETA1
    QT win Integration 1.3.3




    I have had few difficulties in being able to use phonon on QT4.4



    Here is the Scenario



    - I go to the example inside ../qt4.4/examples/phonon

    - I load the QT command line and cd to the example

    - Through the command line, “qmake –tp vc”

    - It builds a project file to be used in visual studio 2005

    - I double click the project (musicplayer.vcproj)

    - Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 opens

    - Starts the project

    - Compiles and links successfully

    - As soon as I click on file, open and choose a mp3 file to load

    - The file doesn’t load and the application doesn’t stop working and doesn’t crash

    BUT the out put from debug shows the following message



    WARNING: bool __thiscall Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend(void) phonon backend plugin could not be loaded



    Please Note:



    Before the above problem has occurred, there are several files that the example was not able to see in the (Bin and Lib Directories) even though they are available and included in both linker and general input libraries in the projects properties and I had to take these files (.dll) and add them all to the projects folder in order to make the example at least see them



    These files are the following:



    phonond4.dll
    QtCored4.dll
    QtGuid4.dll


    -----------------------------------------------
    plz help me out with this problem as no one has helped me with it before thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    Which files do you have in %QTDIR%\plugins\phonon_backend?
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    Try a recent snapshot, afaik the beta preview didn't build Phonon yet?

    (at least, the snapshots did not at that time)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    here are the files in plugins\phonon_backend

    phonon_ds9d4.dll
    phonon_ds9d4.lib
    phonon_ds94.dll
    phonon_ds94.lib

    u know what confuses me ?
    is why do i need to include the files that i mentioned previously ?
    they are in the QTDIR\bin its just soo confusing and its set in the enviroment virables in windows and on top of that included when u go to right click on the project then properties then c++ then general

    i asked Trolltech but they said , you need to
    set manually /bin /include /lib from platform sdk , but what platform sdk has to do with phonon backend i know it is needed but i dont think i have to set it manually

    i have been working on this problem for along time

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    I just noticed that ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/snapshots has Qt 4.4.1 snapshots already since last week so presumably Qt 4.4.0 stable is getting close... I'd wait for it instead of banging my head against the wall with an unstable beta release.
    J-P Nurmi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    does it work fast on mac?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    Well, this is quite a thread resurrection, but did anyone ever get this to work? I have exactly the same issue, thou my environment differs slightly.

    Windows Vista Business
    Microsoft DirectX SDK (June 2008)
    Microsoft Visual Studio 2008
    QT4.4.0
    QT win Integration 1.4.0


    I have reconfigured Qt to run with vs2008 (configure, then nmake)
    Included QT += phonon in the .pro file
    and added Include <phonon> in the h file...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    47
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    Quote Originally Posted by Mañana View Post
    Well, this is quite a thread resurrection, but did anyone ever get this to work? I have exactly the same issue, thou my environment differs slightly.

    Windows Vista Business
    Microsoft DirectX SDK (June 2008)
    Microsoft Visual Studio 2008
    QT4.4.0
    QT win Integration 1.4.0


    I have reconfigured Qt to run with vs2008 (configure, then nmake)
    Included QT += phonon in the .pro file
    and added Include <phonon> in the h file...
    For sure, but with 2005.
    What exactly doesn't work?
    Does it compile?
    Does it link?
    Does it start properly in debug mode?
    Does it start properly in release mode?
    Is Phonon really compiled in Qt4.4 (not enabled by default when compiling Qt4)?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    It builds and links properly. I havent tried running it in Release mode but in debug mode is starts properly, and when I try to play a sound it just says

    WARNING: bool __thiscall Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend(void) phonon backend plugin could not be loaded

    The application keeps running as supposed to, it doesn't crash or anything. Thats just all it says...

    Also, as described in the first post, I had to manually move the required dlls, whitch seems a little strange.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    well, changed to XP SP3 and VS2005
    still Qt 4.4.0, VS integration 1.4.0 and DX SDK June 2008

    Same error...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    I'm from a unix background and also found it confusing.

    You don't need to move around the dlls. Navigate to My Computer->properties->advanced->Environment variables and add the qt bin directory to PATH
    Then your application can hopefully find the right backend dll.

    Richard

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    How do you get the dlls for phonon.?
    I have compile the qt libs but these dlls (for phonon Qt4.4) are not there??

    thanks

    (without using MS visual...? with QT and mingw)
    Last edited by SunnySan; 30th October 2008 at 14:12.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    did you pass the phonon flag to configure?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    sorry but I don't know about the flag setting .
    is it when compiling all the Qt libs??

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    How did you install Qt? If it was with a package manager like apt-get then phonon was probably not installed by default (it wasn't for me on Ubuntu).
    But if you install from source you would first run a configure script. Try running
    Qt Code:
    1. ./configure -help
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    and you will see a -phonon option.

  16. The following user says thank you to rbp for this useful post:

    SunnySan (5th November 2008)

  17. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: phonon on QT4.4

    Quote Originally Posted by coolk View Post
    I HOPE I AM IN THE RIGHT FORUM

    i was referred by the phonon (KDE MULTIMEDIA) mailing list to this website

    i have been jumping around websites asking them for help about this issue

    i really want a detailed solution

    here is the problem
    ------------------------
    My system specifications:

    Windows XP professional
    Microsoft DirectX SDK (March 2008)
    WinXP Platform SDK
    Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
    QT4.4 BETA1
    QT win Integration 1.3.3




    I have had few difficulties in being able to use phonon on QT4.4



    Here is the Scenario



    - I go to the example inside ../qt4.4/examples/phonon

    - I load the QT command line and cd to the example

    - Through the command line, “qmake –tp vc”

    - It builds a project file to be used in visual studio 2005

    - I double click the project (musicplayer.vcproj)

    - Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 opens

    - Starts the project

    - Compiles and links successfully

    - As soon as I click on file, open and choose a mp3 file to load

    - The file doesn’t load and the application doesn’t stop working and doesn’t crash

    BUT the out put from debug shows the following message



    WARNING: bool __thiscall Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend(void) phonon backend plugin could not be loaded



    Please Note:



    Before the above problem has occurred, there are several files that the example was not able to see in the (Bin and Lib Directories) even though they are available and included in both linker and general input libraries in the projects properties and I had to take these files (.dll) and add them all to the projects folder in order to make the example at least see them



    These files are the following:



    phonond4.dll
    QtCored4.dll
    QtGuid4.dll


    -----------------------------------------------
    plz help me out with this problem as no one has helped me with it before thanks
    I had the same problem. I just included QtOpenGLd4.dll it run perfect. When you forget some dlls, app produces error like "could not find the dll" but, if you don't include QtOpenGLd4.dll it never mentions this...

Similar Threads

  1. Qt4.4 on Mac, pro problem
    By bnilsson in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st March 2008, 09:07
  2. qt4.4 rsync
    By elcuco in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th March 2008, 11:12
  3. Qt4.4 binaries for windows
    By mm in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th February 2008, 20:55

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.