Thread: application deployment with MSVC++ 2008 Express???

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default application deployment with MSVC++ 2008 Express???

is it possible to deploy applications built with MSVC++ 9.0 (2008) Express? The instructions here:

http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/deploym...ared-libraries

are for MSVC++ 8.0 (2005) and Qt 4.2. I'm using MSVC++ 9.0 (2008) and Qt 4.4.3.

Has anyone successfully deployed the latter? I'm developing/testing on winXP 32-bit. I'm tempted to scrap everything and use mingw--i rarely use the IDE anyway, mostly the VS2008 command prompt--but the third party API I use, coin3d, is better supported with msvc++, and I'm not very good at tracking down build/compile errors so would like to stick with msvc++ if possible.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

Default Re: application deployment with MSVC++ 2008 Express???

Yes it is possible. But I used CMake to create the project solutions when I was on Windows. Just install the SDK and use the command line prompt of the SDK to compile Qt. Use the latest SDK, the one for Vista even if you are using XP. It will allow you to compile Phonon with it
    Qt-4.7.3 | Gentoo ~amd64 | KDE-4.7
    Aki IRC Client for KDE4 | Qt Documentation

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

The instructions are the same for 2008. You only have to deploy the Qt dlls and instruct the user(or your installer) to run vcredist_x86.exe(the 2008 version) before your program is run the first time.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Quote Originally Posted by spud View Post
    The instructions are the same for 2008. You only have to deploy the Qt dlls and instruct the user(or your installer) to run vcredist_x86.exe(the 2008 version) before your program is run the first time.
    thanks alot, spud. After I posted my question I found this: