Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: touchscreen API

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default touchscreen API

    hello,

    Does anyone have experience using touchscreens with QT?
    I've seen lots of talk about how to configure the touchscreen for QT, but once this is done can you treat the touchscreen input just like a mouse with the click events and so on?

    Richard

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    I am not sure how much it will help, but u can check Tablet demo in Qt Demos -> Widgets

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    35
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    what problem is with touchscreen? process mouse events.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    Quote Originally Posted by nicolas1 View Post
    what problem is with touchscreen? process mouse events.
    so from your experience does a touchscreen produce mouse events, such as QEvent::MouseButtonPress, QEvent::MouseButtonRelease, etc?
    That's what I want to confirm.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    Hi,

    [QUOTE]
    so from your experience does a touchscreen produce mouse events, such as QEvent::MouseButtonPress, QEvent::MouseButtonRelease, etc?
    That's what I want to confirm.
    [QUOTE]

    As I know, touchscreen only acts as a simple mouse connected to USB or serial port. Don't know why you have to configure touchscreen for Qt. It's just a mouse.
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    Quote Originally Posted by ^NyAw^ View Post
    Hi,
    As I know, touchscreen only acts as a simple mouse connected to USB or serial port.
    That's what I expect, but I want to confirm from someones experience before I buy one.

    Don't know why you have to configure touchscreen for Qt. It's just a mouse.
    On Linux, which is my platform, there is some configuration involved according to the discussions I saw.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    Hi

    On Linux, which is my platform, there is some configuration involved according to the discussions I saw.
    I really don't understand why. The OS will process the touchscreen input as a mouse, so if your Qt application is responding to a simple mouse, why you have to configure Qt to use a touchscreen? Do you understand me? It is a MOUSE, the hardware is different but it gets x and y positions to the operating system. Maybe I'm mistaken.
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    Quote Originally Posted by ^NyAw^ View Post
    Hi
    I really don't understand why. The OS will process the touchscreen input as a mouse, so if your Qt application is responding to a simple mouse, why you have to configure Qt to use a touchscreen? Do you understand me? It is a MOUSE, the hardware is different but it gets x and y positions to the operating system. Maybe I'm mistaken.
    in this thread for example it was said:

    my touchscreen is now working. Turns out after a week of debugging all that need to be done was comment out certian lines of code. I commented out anything that had to do with the IPAQ in qmouselinuxtp.cpp but this is the line that was holding everything up.
    # if defined(QT_QWS_IPAQ_RAW) || defined(QT_QWS_EBX_RAW)
    mousePos = handler->transform( mousePos );
    # endif
    Nyaw, thank you for responding but I'm after actual experience. I agree that it should work in theory.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    Hi,

    So you are using Qtopia, right? Then I think that you need to configure the touchscreen as you said, but really you are configuring the mouse of the IPAD to be responsing on the virtual framebuffer.

    I'm using Qt4 application on Windows using a touchscreen and it acts as a mouse. So I said that it work.
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: touchscreen API

    oh, you're already using it with the mouse API.
    Thanks - that's what I wanted to know.

Similar Threads

  1. touchscreen help...
    By aj2903 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th November 2008, 18:47
  2. touchscreen help
    By aj2903 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd October 2008, 00:54
  3. touchscreen QTe
    By damien in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th September 2008, 16:46
  4. How to Launch Virtual Keyboard on top of TouchScreen
    By arunvv in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st June 2007, 18:31
  5. Qtopia4.2:Usage of both TouchScreen and Mouse
    By arunvv in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st June 2007, 18:18

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.