Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Usage of the Debugger!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Usage of the Debugger!!

    Hi...

    I have created an application in the debug mode.. the .exe is being created.. Now i want to run the debugger and check the execution of each statement of my code, (very similar to the way we do it in VC++)... how do i do that... how do i get to debug my code ie use the debugger????

    Thank you,
    Kapil
    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    What debugger do you have?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply....

    I am using QT 4.1.0 with MinGW open source version...

    I do not have any linux debuggers installed..

    For Windows i use VC++ and it has its own debugger...

    I hope i have not missed on any information..

    Thank you,

    with regards,
    Kapil
    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    You need a debugger, such as GDB. You'll probably not find it as user-friendly as Microsoft's integrated debugger though.

  5. The following user says thank you to dimitri for this useful post:

    Kapil (20th April 2006)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!


  7. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    Kapil (20th April 2006)

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    16
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    try Eclipse - it is very beatuful (and powerfull) IDE both for windows and linux, and it transparent integrates gdb debugger, so you can use debugger just like in VC++. however it has a few annoying bugs.

  9. The following user says thank you to shad for this useful post:

    Kapil (20th April 2006)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    Quote Originally Posted by shad
    try Eclipse - it is very beatuful (and powerfull) IDE both for windows and linux, and it transparent integrates gdb debugger, so you can use debugger just like in VC++. however it has a few annoying bugs.

    Hi...

    I would love to use Eclipse but can QT be integrated with Eclipse and if yes then how to do it.. Once i had tried but failed in doing the same...
    I would be very thankful to you if you could tell me the same...

    Kapil
    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    Hi,

    Is it possible to use QT over Eclipse.. ie integration of QT & Eclipse like QT & VC++ or QT & Visual .net...
    It would of real help to me..
    Thank you,
    Kapil
    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    16
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    no, the same integration as QT+VC++ is not possible, i.e. you won't be able to use qt designed inside eclipse. But auto-generation of make files from .pro will be available, and you will be able to use standalone QTDesigner and to create and edit .pro from eclipse text editor.

  13. The following user says thank you to shad for this useful post:

    Kapil (20th April 2006)

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Usage of the Debugger!!

    Quote Originally Posted by shad
    no, the same integration as QT+VC++ is not possible, i.e. you won't be able to use qt designed inside eclipse. But auto-generation of make files from .pro will be available, and you will be able to use standalone QTDesigner and to create and edit .pro from eclipse text editor.
    hi,

    so this means that compiling and executing of the code can be done via the ECLIPSE.. its just the design which would be made externally... Is it so????
    Doubt is that will the exe be created using ECLIPSE and not MinGW (am using it currently)..
    and auto generation of makefiles in ECLIPSE ???? i had used it once and then had to create is myself i.e. manually... how can this be achieved.. like do u have to set some parameters in the .pro file or what...

    if you can provide me with some doc to help me out on this issue, it would be very helpful to me...

    Kapil
    All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you

Similar Threads

  1. Bad memory usage on QWebView I think
    By jiturra in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 21st January 2014, 20:35
  2. Reducing CPU Usage
    By Kapil in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd April 2011, 14:43
  3. rotate operation and cpu usage
    By ersin.ozkan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th December 2008, 06:42
  4. QThread usage and exec()
    By smahnken in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 18:13
  5. CPU and Memory Usage
    By philwinder in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 17th May 2008, 22:25

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.