Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Hi all,
    I have created a simple GUI application with QTCreator, no plugins. If it runs inside Qtcreator it works, but if I try to distribute it I have error.
    In details I put in a folder the following files:

    myapplication.exe
    mingwm10.dll
    QtCore4.dll
    QtGui4.dll

    and launch myapplication.exe.

    The error is something like "it is not possible to find the entry point in QtCore4.dll"

    QT has been installed in default mode (no static configuration).

    What's wrong?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Anybody with this problem?
    Do I make any error?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Quote Originally Posted by brasio View Post
    Anybody with this problem?
    Do I make any error?
    I do have the same problem!
    Have you been able to find the cause, then?

    I found out that the error disappears if I use dlls from QT4.4.3 that I also have on my machine.
    So I asked to myself if, in some way, I had messed up things and had linked against 4.4.3;
    to clarify the doubt I used QT_VERSION_STR inside my application and it confirmed that it was compiled against 4.5.
    With qVersion() it confirmed that inside QtCreator it runs under QT4.5 and outside it starts only under QT4.4.3

    What is happening??

    Max

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Qt is only backwards binary compatible. You can run applications built with and older Qt versions against a newer Qt version, but not the vice versa. The Qt library is being developed all the time, a newer Qt version naturally contains more exported symbols than the older one does. If you build an application against a new Qt version, it cannot be run against an old Qt version which doesn't contain all the symbols the new Qt version had.
    J-P Nurmi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    I have only qt 4.5 open source on my pc. Previous version has been uninstalled.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    I apologize for being so confusing. Situation is as follows:

    I'm under Windows XP and I created with QtCretor a simple Dialog with only two lineEdit fields. I use inside application:
    - QT_VERSION_STR macro to ask to application which Qt version it has been compiled against;
    - qVersion() to ask to application which Qt version it is running under.

    1) When launched from inside QtCreator my application starts normally and:
    - QT_VERSION_STR returns "4.5.0"
    - qVersion() returns "4.5.0"
    So everything is as expected.

    2) I put my executable in a new folder with QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll (version 4.5) and application doesn't start!!! It gives an error about a procedure entry point not found in QtCore4.dll.

    3) I put my executable in a new folder with QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll (version 4.4.3) and application runs!!!
    - QT_VERSION_STR returns "4.5.0"
    - qVersion() returns "4.4.3"

    So my question is why it works fine under QtCreator and it doesn't with Qt 4.5 libraries.

    Max

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Max, just to ensure, you did compile them all with same compiler, did you? I mean, there's no MSVC vs. MinGW mixup, right?
    J-P Nurmi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    Max, just to ensure, you did compile them all with same compiler, did you? I mean, there's no MSVC vs. MinGW mixup, right?
    I don't have Visual Studio installed.

    Do you know if it is possible to see the execute command that QtCreator uses to launch my applications? I would like to know exactly path, folder, environment, etc etc

    Thank you.

    Max

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Did you find the problem?
    I still cannot find a solution.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Quote Originally Posted by brasio View Post
    Did you find the problem?
    I still cannot find a solution.
    Hi, I've just come to the solution!!!
    I'm going to explain below: I hope it will be useful for you.

    When I installed the new Qt 4.5 bundle that includes QtCreator, the setup program created the folder D:\Qt\2009.01 and put everything there (please note that the default drive was C but I chose to change it).
    Inside that folder you can find the following two folders (among others):
    D:\Qt\2009.01\bin
    D:\Qt\2009.01\qt\bin
    Both of them contain QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll files.
    It seems that the correct files are in the second one (D:\Qt\2009.01\qt\bin).
    My mistake was that I got the files in the first one.

    Max

  11. The following 3 users say thank you to mdicosimo for this useful post:

    AlexanderPopov (10th September 2009), brasio (27th April 2009), LoomVortex (3rd September 2009)

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Same mistake for me.
    Thanks, it works!

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    The problem here is that the binaries under Qt\bin are compiled with MSVC but the binaries under Qt\qt\bin are compiled with mingw.

    According to email from Qt - this is by design! Be carefull...

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    Quote Originally Posted by mdicosimo View Post
    Hi, I've just come to the solution!!!
    I'm going to explain below: I hope it will be useful for you.

    When I installed the new Qt 4.5 bundle that includes QtCreator, the setup program created the folder D:\Qt\2009.01 and put everything there (please note that the default drive was C but I chose to change it).
    Inside that folder you can find the following two folders (among others):
    D:\Qt\2009.01\bin
    D:\Qt\2009.01\qt\bin
    Both of them contain QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll files.
    It seems that the correct files are in the second one (D:\Qt\2009.01\qt\bin).
    My mistake was that I got the files in the first one.

    Max
    Wow.. that´s it! Thanks a lot!

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    I had the same problem, I have tried copy all QTCore4.dll on my computer to my exe folder, still get non found entry point in QTCore4.dll.

    It frustrating for me nearly 2 hours!

    It used to run ok, only change I did was to try to use TCP/IP connection, tried copy QtNetwork4.dll to exe folder.

    Finally found why? I copied wrong "QtNetwork4.dll".

    But why complain non entry point on QTCore4.dll instead of "QtNetwork4.dll". Strange though!!

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deployment problem on qt 4.5 windows

    You probably should use the QTCore4.dll (and others) from the qt\bin subdirectory (not just from the bin folder). I also had this problem, but i searched the QT directory tree for QTCore4.dll and i found 2 versions (one slightly bigger). The other one worked

    edit: lol, didn't see the other post. srry

Similar Threads

  1. Qt + Portmidi in Windows... libraries problem
    By hipogrito in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th June 2009, 00:01
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd July 2008, 03:00
  3. qt deployment problem on windows xp
    By sepp in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th July 2007, 11:16
  4. Thread problem with windows
    By vratojr in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 16th June 2006, 08:34
  5. QProcess problem with windows batch file
    By bood in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th January 2006, 08:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.