Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: transporting qt application fron linux to windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default transporting qt application fron linux to windows

    if i have made a full application with qt3 as frontend GUI over the exe files compiled in gcc( all in SUSE 10)
    how do i transport to with least effort to windows using say qt for windows
    or by any other means

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: transporting qt application fron linux to windows

    Just compile it with Windows version of Qt. If you don't use any code the windows compiler doesn't understand, it should compile and work just fine.

    BTW. Is this really a Qt Designer issue?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: transporting qt application fron linux to windows

    thanks
    infact i am in the process of loading qt for windows
    since gcc made exe linux will the same exe get compiled/accepted
    in windows qt
    any way let me try a bit then i will come back

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: transporting qt application fron linux to windows

    I tried to port but it didnot work.The problem is with the slots which i used there.I had custom slots for which i wrote the functions in the ui.h file. Now QT 4 doesnot support such kind of slot thing and gives errors. It was fine if there was an qt 3 integarted environment for windows and i could port the code there.
    any suggestions please.
    thankyou.
    deekayt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: transporting qt application fron linux to windows

    Quote Originally Posted by deekayt View Post
    Now QT 4 doesnot support such kind of slot thing and gives errors.
    Of course it supports "such kind of slots". Just move the slot from your .ui.h file into the class you implemented from the user interface. Remember to declare the slots in the class and remember about the Q_OBJECT macro.

Similar Threads

  1. Porting Qt application on windows from linux
    By safknw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd May 2006, 13:11
  2. Porting Qt3 linux app to windows qt4
    By Philip_Anselmo in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th May 2006, 18:44
  3. how to corss compile for windows in Linux
    By safknw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 13th May 2006, 05:23
  4. Application plugin on windows
    By Eyee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd March 2006, 17:36
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th January 2006, 04:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.