Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: I cannot launch my app!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Saudi Arabia - Buraidah
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default I cannot launch my app!

    Hi,

    I have switched to Kubuntu because I am learning Qt but when I started Qt Creator and tried to compile and run my project I got these messages:

    Qt Creator 1.0

    Compile Output:
    Qt Code:
    1. Running build steps for project DorraQ...
    2. Configuration unchanged, skipping QMake step.
    3. Starting: /usr/bin/make -w
    4. make: Entering directory `/home/mih1406/Projects/DorraQ'
    5. make: Nothing to be done for `first'.
    6. make: Leaving directory `/home/mih1406/Projects/DorraQ'
    7. Exited with code 0.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Application Output:
    Qt Code:
    1. Starting ...
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    But the program did not start for ever I waited and waited and waited but nothing ran!!

    How can I see if the debugger is working or not?

    Thank you,
    Mohammad
    http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/24714/image/1/
    The Linux Counter Project - user number # 497262
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29025

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    What does the debugger have to do with it? Does your application run when started from the command line?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    MIH1406 (23rd October 2009)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Saudi Arabia - Buraidah
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    What does the debugger have to do with it?
    I thought that the debugger is not working so nothing is shown!

    Does your application run when started from the command line?
    Yes it is working from the command line and by double clicking on it from file manager.
    http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/24714/image/1/
    The Linux Counter Project - user number # 497262
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29025

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    So you can check the parameters of your debugger configuration.

    Maybe you miss some environment variable.

    or you have multiple Qt versions installed on your system or linked by network and the debugger does not use the same as your desktop does.

  6. The following user says thank you to scascio for this useful post:

    MIH1406 (23rd October 2009)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    Guys, leave the debugger alone, it has nothing to do with this. If it was about debugger, the word "debugger" would have appeared somewhere in the output.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  8. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    MIH1406 (23rd October 2009)

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    So, since the application can be launched from command line, the subject is closed?

  10. The following user says thank you to scascio for this useful post:

    MIH1406 (23rd October 2009)

  11. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Saudi Arabia - Buraidah
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    I also found that the database operation do not work at all?!
    http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/24714/image/1/
    The Linux Counter Project - user number # 497262
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29025

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    Find out if your application is compiled against the proper version of Qt.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  13. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    MIH1406 (23rd October 2009)

  14. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Saudi Arabia - Buraidah
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    I have upgraded Kubuntu 9.04 t0 9.10 Beta and everything works fine.

    My project was created and worked with Ubuntu 9.10 Beta (Qt Creator 1.2.1). I think this is why it is not working with Kubuntu 9.04 (Qt Creator 1.0).

    Thank you,
    MIH1406
    http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/24714/image/1/
    The Linux Counter Project - user number # 497262
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29025

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Symbian S60

    Default Re: I cannot launch my app!

    go to "Tools" menu and select "Options " there you may set your QT Settings make it properly and it will run
    Kavin

  16. The following user says thank you to kavinsiva for this useful post:

    MIH1406 (3rd June 2010)

Similar Threads

  1. how to launch media player in Qtopia
    By Yeshwin in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 09:44
  2. launch Qt app on right-click
    By jcr in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd March 2009, 02:32
  3. launch app
    By damien in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th February 2009, 19:42
  4. launch in a gif via QMovie and QThread
    By desch in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th February 2008, 09:02
  5. How to Launch Virtual Keyboard on top of TouchScreen
    By arunvv in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st June 2007, 18:31

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.