Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Hello World app takes ages to start on WM6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60

    Question Hello World app takes ages to start on WM6

    Hi all,
    I'm a very newbie in using QT.
    I've downloaded the qt 4.6.0 everywhere-src distribution and recompiled fo windows mobile 6 professional using these options:
    c:\Qt\4.6.0\configure.exe -debug-and-release -nomake examples -nomake demos -no-exceptions -no-openssl -no-opengl -no-style-motif -no-style-cde -no-style-cleanlooks -no-style-plastique -no-sql-sqlite -opensource -qt-style-windowsce -qt-style-windowsmobile -no-native-gestures -no-cetest -platform win32-msvc2008 -xplatform wincewm60professional-msvc2008

    Then using QTCreator 1.3 I've created an Hello World gui application that simply display a maximized window with a centered label
    I've compiled it in release mode and I've copied the required dlls and the exe to an HTC P3300 with wm6.1 pro. The processor on the phone is a OMAP850-201Mhz
    When I launch the application,it takes nearly 20 seconds to show my window.

    I've tried using debug and release versions of the dlls but I've seen no improvements regarding the startup time.
    I've tried compressing the dlls using UPX but this way, the only difference is that the "wait" cursor disappear after 4-5 seconds but the form only shows after 22 seconds.

    Is this startup time normal? How can I improve this?

    Best regards
    Fabio

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Hello World app takes ages to start on WM6

    Did you ever solve your problem? I'm interested in an opensource method of doing WM6 development and have been drawn to the QT world and would love to learn more about your successes and failures...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Hello World app takes ages to start on WM6

    Hi mtiberio,

    actually the apps performs well regarding the startup-time
    Since I only developed that app and a lot of months are gone since I have hands on Qt, I don't remember exactly what solved the problem

    I've upgraded to Qt 4.6.1 and now my build configuration is this:
    Qt Code:
    1. c:\Qt\4.6.1\configure.exe -release -nomake examples -nomake demos -opensource -ltcg -fast -no-exceptions -no-accessibility -no-stl -no-rtti -no-sql-sqlite -no-qt3support -no-opengl -no-openvg -no-gif -no-libmng -no-libtiff -no-libjpeg -no-openssl -no-dbus -no-phonon -no-phonon-backend -no-multimedia -no-webkit -no-scripttools -no-declarative -no-style-windowsxp -no-style-windowsvista -no-style-plastique -no-style-cleanlooks -no-style-motif -no-style-cde -qt-style-windowsce -qt-style-windowsmobile -no-native-gestures -no-cetest -platform win32-msvc2008 -xplatform wincewm60professional-msvc2008
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Hope this helps

Similar Threads

  1. QTextEdit loading takes long time
    By sreedhar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st March 2011, 10:29
  2. QImage::scaled takes long time
    By nrabara in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th December 2009, 12:19
  3. QGraphicsItem.setPos takes a lot of time
    By ricofe25 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th December 2009, 19:28
  4. QFile::resize takes forever and freezes the GUI
    By MaximA in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th May 2008, 09:53
  5. Can QByteArray takes place of BYTE?
    By hiuao in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th April 2007, 11:49

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.