Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Frameless QMdiSubWindow

  1. #1

    Default Frameless QMdiSubWindow

    Is it possible to do frameless mdisubwindows. I do the "setWindowFlags(Qt::FramelessWindowHint)" on my dialog before i add it to the mdi area but still has the frame on it. Is there another way to make it frameless?

    here is the code

    Qt Code:
    1. navDialog *nav = new navDialog;
    2. nav->setWindowFlags(Qt::FramelessWindowHint);
    3. mdiArea->addSubWindow(nav,Qt::Dialog);
    4. nav->setWindowTitle(QObject::tr("Main Menu"));
    5. nav->show();
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Last edited by wysota; 30th August 2010 at 10:14.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Frameless QMdiSubWindow

    I don't think so. What do you need it for?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3

    Default Re: Frameless QMdiSubWindow

    I wanted to be able to have a "navigation" widget that wouldn't move in the mdiarea. maybe i should rethink that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Frameless QMdiSubWindow

    But what sense does it make to make it a QMDISubWindow? You want to be able to tile it, cascade it and stuff like that together with other child windows? Maybe just add the widget as a child to the viewport of the MDI if you really need it inside the MDI. If not then place it over or besides the MDI area.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Frameless QMdiSubWindow

    Do like this
    Qt Code:
    1. ...
    2. mdiArea->addSubWindow( nav , Qt::FramelessWindowHint );
    3. ...
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    It works

Similar Threads

  1. How to minimize frameless QWidget ?
    By anupamgee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th August 2010, 16:27
  2. Resize handling of frameless window
    By Peppy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd June 2010, 20:48
  3. How to show a frameless dialog - DOESN'T WORK
    By franco.amato in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd June 2010, 17:21
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th April 2010, 22:26
  5. KWin's shadows and frameless window
    By EuroElessar in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th July 2009, 16:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.