Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Unhappy which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    hi, i'm using qt for my assignment, and i'd been reading all threads (almost all ) i still have no idea on how to use qt
    i saw some using dev-c++, a lot of problems, heh?

    so, which do u guys think is the best? i mean, easy integration, easy linking.....

    i do have the latest dev-c++ and qt4.1.4...... uh-oh, i ain't use that dev-c++ for coding, too much trouble! what else do u guys recommend? i need a database, too (having sqlite 3, no idea how to use that).

    so, i'm going to get a working qt, database, and ide/editor (work as one)

    please, tell me, how to achieve that?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    The standard reply is "use whatever tools you like best". Do you have an IDE you like? Then use it! I know people successfully using Qt with dev-c++, Eclipse, Visual Studio, KDevelop, XCode and plain old Emacs. Use what you like!

    It's not our job to tell you what you should like!

    But I would caution you NOT to get too attached to one tool. Use whatever tools you want, but also know how to survive without them. A competent programmer can survive with just a shell and text editor if necessary.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    cool!!! i like the way u answer my doubts

    i have plenty of tools, dev-c++, borland c++ builder 5.5, visual c++... and i never found out which i prefer the most

    but i think i'll use borland c++ 5.5 compiler and notepad++ editor, so, how to make these become good friends with QT4? i do hope that borland c++, qt, and sqlite3 can be very good couples

    i'm now buckle up, u take the wheel, and show me the wondorous of the QT world
    Last edited by kkool84; 20th August 2006 at 13:44.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by kkool84
    but i think i'll use borland c++ 5.5 compiler and notepad++ editor, so, how to make these become good friends with QT4? i do hope that borland c++, qt, and sqlite3 can be very good couples
    Get the new "C++ GUI Programming with Qt 4" book if you can. Otherwise the tutorials that come with Qt should be sufficient. Notepad++ is a good editor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    why? there are modifications between qt3 and qt4?

    i just change my mind, i will use notepad++ as my editor and i just compile it from command prompt, easiest way!

    thanks for the help

    now another problem arise

    #include <QApplication>
    #include <QPushButton>

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication app(argc, argv);

    QPushButton hello("Hello world!");
    hello.resize(100, 30);

    hello.show();
    return app.exec();
    }

    when i make, the following message scared me

    C:\Qt\4.1.4\hello>qmake -project

    C:\Qt\4.1.4\hello>qmake

    C:\Qt\4.1.4\hello>make
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug all
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/Qt/4.1.4/hello'
    g++ -mthreads -Wl,-enable-stdcall-fixup -Wl,-enable-auto-import -Wl,-enable-runt
    ime-pseudo-reloc -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o "debug\hello.exe" tmp\obj\debug_share
    d\helloworld.o -L"c:\Qt\4.1.4\lib" -L"c:\Qt\4.1.4\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQt
    Guid4 -lQtCored4
    C:\MinGW\bin\..\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2\..\..\..\..\ mingw32\bin\ld.exe: cannot fin
    d -lqtmaind
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    mingw32-make[1]: *** [debug\hello.exe] Error 1
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/4.1.4/hello'
    mingw32-make: *** [debug-all] Error 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Do you have the Qt debug libraries built? It looks like you don't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    i did, but after half an hour, the build debug libraries still stuck at the same place, i guessed it is done, so, i close the prompt

    run again now, hope it finish soon

    oh, man, qt is load more fun than i thought

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    i have mingw 5.0.3 install in my notebook by the default path, when i install qt, it tolds me that it cannot find "w32api.h" in my mingw, what is wrong with that?

    i ignore the message and install it anyway, then i begin to build debug libraries, it stuck at qtmd5.cpp, after half an hour, it is still at the same place, and what the hxxx is wrong with that?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by kkool84
    i have mingw 5.0.3 install in my notebook by the default path, when i install qt, it tolds me that it cannot find "w32api.h" in my mingw, what is wrong with that?
    That file contains the Win32 API. You need it. It is supposed to come with MinGW. Did you install MinGW before you installed Qt? Qt specifically looks for this file when it is installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by kkool84
    i ignore the message and install it anyway, then i begin to build debug libraries, it stuck at qtmd5.cpp, after half an hour, it is still at the same place, and what the hxxx is wrong with that?
    This is very strange. I haven't seen an error like that in years. I think you may have a bad installation of MinGW. Try installing it again. If it still doesn't work, I would consider posting detailed information on the problem to qt-interest mailing list.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by Brandybuck
    That file contains the Win32 API. You need it. It is supposed to come with MinGW. Did you install MinGW before you installed Qt? Qt specifically looks for this file when it is installed.


    This is very strange. I haven't seen an error like that in years. I think you may have a bad installation of MinGW. Try installing it again. If it still doesn't work, I would consider posting detailed information on the problem to qt-interest mailing list.

    i had mingw installed before i proceed to qt!!!!! and i stuck again ORZ

    i uninstalled qt, mingw, and install again, qt by using qt's downloaded mingw, everything seems perfect

    but, u know, i stuck when i build debug libraries, for half an hour, nothing happen

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by kkool84
    i stuck when i build debug libraries, for half an hour, nothing happen
    Really nothing? Is your CPU idle? Qt compilation can take even few hours.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by jacek
    Really nothing? Is your CPU idle? Qt compilation can take even few hours.

    uh-oh, not a damn thing after 1hour
    i try to install on my another centrino notebook, works fine, too fine.
    when i work on this centrino duo, not working. i installed and uninstalled and again and again and again...........and again. it just stuck in the build debug libraries.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by kkool84
    it just stuck in the build debug libraries.
    Maybe you don't have enough free space on your hard drive? How much RAM do you have?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    If it's the same processor and OS on the other notebook, you could just copy over the libraries.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    i'm having 100gb sata, and 512 ram, sure it is good enough.

    i have two notebooks, one with centrino and xp home, another one with centrino duo and xp home, which folder to copy?

    thanks

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    If you want to copy your compiled Qt4 to another machine, you can but you MUST place it to exact the same folder (C:\qt\ -> C:\qt, moving to D:\qt and adjust variables will not work).

    http://lists.trolltech.com/qt-intere...ad01777-0.html

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    Quote Originally Posted by sector
    If you want to copy your compiled Qt4 to another machine, you can but you MUST place it to exact the same folder (C:\qt\ -> C:\qt, moving to D:\qt and adjust variables will not work).

    http://lists.trolltech.com/qt-intere...ad01777-0.html

    yeah, thanks for the help
    problems solved!!!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: which ide/editor/database work best with qt4?

    hmmm

    a friend of mine facing the same problem also, stuck when building debug libraries.
    do u guys knows what causing this?
    can i feedback to trolltech?

    he is using centrino duo also, with xp pro.

Similar Threads

  1. QWidget -> updateGeometry dont work.
    By patrik08 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd May 2013, 15:55
  2. Why can't I make dynamic_cast work properly?
    By pir in forum General Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 18th July 2006, 16:17
  3. QScrollArea::scrollContentsBy does not work
    By Mad Max in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th April 2006, 14:48
  4. work general with plugins
    By raphaelf in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17th February 2006, 14:30
  5. QTextEdit Justify align making work
    By dec0ding in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th January 2006, 12:02

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.