Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tanzania
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    hi,am new in Qt and this forum either.i tried to build and run sample application come with Qt open-source version, the problem is;
    >it work and run fine after build in QT Creator but when i browse to output folder,under release folder and try to run exe created(my program)-i get a message saying:" This application has failed to start because mingwm10.dll was not found.Re-installing the application may fix this problem"

    WHAT I DID?
    1.Re-installing the Qt 4.
    2.Restart system.

    Please any help..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    You can find that dll in: Qt_INSTALL_FOLDER\mingw\bin //you are going to need another dll from that folder "libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll"

    And after that you need Qt's dll's from Qt_INSTALL_FOLDER\qt\bin (those from Qt_INSTALL_FOLDER\bin don't work with your application, those are used by Qt Creator)
    Copy those dll's in the same folder as your .exe file
    Note: You need to copy QtGuid4.dll for the debug build and QtGui4.dll for release build

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tanzania
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    wow!--Thanks for your concept of copying missing dll form those folders, it work now!-she need QtCore.dll too just i gave it to her..Happy coding.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    On your development PC you can also add those paths to the Environment variables -> Path
    You can add a line that looks like this: (example for Qt SDK installed in it's default folder)
    Qt Code:
    1. C:\Qt\2010.05\mingw\bin;C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\bin
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Note: Don't forget to put ; between different paths

    But if you execute your application on another PC you will need to copy those dll's

  5. The following user says thank you to Zlatomir for this useful post:

    mazd (1st October 2010)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tanzania
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    Can you show me where to get such place?.
    -Al-Mazeedy

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    On Win 7 you (i don't have XP, but it is something similar):
    right click on Computer;
    Click Advanced system settings;
    Select the Advanced tab;
    Click on Environment variables button;
    You have two lists with variables (user and system) in the System one scroll down till you find and select the one named Path;
    With Path selected click on edit; (careful so you DON'T delete anything)
    On the Variable value add the line (make sure you add the path where you installed Qt, and don't forgot the ; most likely the last path in there doesn't have one at the end so you need to put one...)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tanzania
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    Well done!,last question please:How can i change icon of my exe, it seem to have icon like console application that am familiar with!.
    -Al-Mazeedy

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    I didn't use this, but here is a link that will help you.

  10. The following user says thank you to Zlatomir for this useful post:

    mazd (1st October 2010)

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem on runnig exe file after build in Qt

    thx for the information

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th June 2010, 13:25
  2. specifying VS build order within pro file?
    By barrygp in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th December 2009, 21:22
  3. QT 4.5.1 failed to build with gtk/gtk.h: No such file or directory
    By doggrant in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th August 2009, 15:55
  4. Application build Mac PPC/Intel pro file?
    By patrik08 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th June 2006, 13:27
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th January 2006, 17:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.