Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How to display a large signals with 10000 points on a screen?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    1

    Default How to display a large signals with 10000 points on a screen?

    Hi.

    I've a signal data that has 10000 points in it.
    I like to display this signal data in Qpainter.
    But on my screen, I only have a resolution of 1280 horizontally.
    How do I squeeze this 10000 points into a display with 1280 resolution?
    I tried a method in which I sample every other 7 samples so by the time I draw the last pixel, I'm almost at the 10000th points in my signals. But this method will make me miss out some peaks in the signals when I draw them. Is there a better way to achieve a good representation?

    Thank you.
    Marc

    PS. I'm not sure if this question is entirely related to QT. Just wanted to know how other programmers do that in QT.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to display a large signals with 10000 points on a screen?

    Put ur painted widget inside a QScrollWidget and you can scroll through the points.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 76 Times in 74 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to display a large signals with 10000 points on a screen?

    Hi, you can draw the minimum and maximum of a bunch of samples. That way you won't miss any peaks.

    Ginsengelf

Similar Threads

  1. Large desktop for Multiple Display Monitors
    By yxtx1984 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd December 2011, 10:37
  2. How to efficiently display a large number of QPixmaps?
    By ChiliPalmer in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th April 2011, 01:25
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th November 2010, 06:32
  4. How to Keep Splash Screen and App on Same Display
    By ajb_advance in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th March 2009, 11:49
  5. How to display QTableWidget fast with row > 10000?
    By chenw8 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th October 2007, 12:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.