Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Qt5 VS2012 build error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qt5 VS2012 build error

    Hey,

    So i am trying to build Qt 5.0.2 for and with msvc2012u2.

    configured/built fine with this:

    Qt Code:
    1. -configure -debug-and-release -opensource -confirm-license -nomake tests
    2. jom.exe -j 8
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 



    and get this error after ~25 minutes:


    if exist N:\Qt5\x86\qtbase\lib\Qt5Qmld.dll.embed.manifest copy /Y N:\Qt5
    \x86\qtbase\lib\Qt5Qmld.dll.embed.manifest N:\Qt5\x86\qtbase\lib\Qt5Qmld.dll_man
    ifest.bak
    link /NOLOGO /DYNAMICBASE /NXCOMPAT /BASE:0x66000000 /DEBUG /DLL /VERSIO
    N:5.02 /MANIFEST /MANIFESTFILE:N:\Qt5\x86\qtbase\lib\Qt5Qmld.dll.emb ed.manifest
    /OUT:N:\Qt5\x86\qtbase\lib\Qt5Qmld.dll @C:\Users\admin\AppData\Local\Temp\Qt5Qml
    d.dll.6320.47221.jom

    LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'N:/Qt5/x86/qtbase/lib\Qt5V8d.lib'
    jom: N:\Qt5\x86\qtdeclarative\src\qml\Makefile.Debug [N:\Qt5\x86\qtbase\lib\Qt5Q
    mld.dll] Error 1104
    jom: N:\Qt5\x86\qtdeclarative\src\qml\Makefile [debug-all] Error 2
    jom: N:\Qt5\x86\qtdeclarative\src\Makefile [sub-qml-make_first-ordered] Error 2
    jom: N:\Qt5\x86\qtdeclarative\Makefile [sub-src-make_first] Error 2
    jom: N:\Qt5\x86\Makefile [module-qtdeclarative-make_first] Error 2

    and yeah, that lib file does not exist.
    THiugh i am unable to find a corresponding compiler error.

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt5 VS2012 build error

    trying different things, no success thus far.


    With nmake i keep hitting this after some time:


    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0
    \VC\BIN\nmake.exe"' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt5 VS2012 build error

    downloaded a clean copy, dropped jom and any multi-core switches for nmake and let it build over night.

    Took nearly 4 times as long, but: it worked!


    Final question: Could somebody explain what these two commands exactly do?


    nmake docs
    nmake install

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows
    Wiki edits
    1

    Default Re: Qt5 VS2012 build error

    Same problem here. Did you find a solution? Or maybe a reason for the problem?
    Is this a jom bug?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt5 VS2012 build error

    nmake docs
    nmake install
    After spending literally weeks trying to build Qt 5 (5.0, 5.1, it doesn't matter) on Windows using MSVC2012, I finally gave up and just installed the pre-built binaries even though they aren't the configuration I want. (I want OpenGL desktop, the pre-builts use Angle).

    nmake will eventually build everything, but then there is no way to create an installation that matches what you get in the pre-built. If you specified a directory in the configure step using the "-prefix" option, then "nmake install" will make an installation folder four or five levels deep under your build directory and try to copy everything there. You can't move this somewhere else afterwards, because configure hard codes this directory name into qmake and qmake will not work if moved.

    I have never been able to get "nmake docs" to work past step one. It's easier just to download a pre-built version and use the docs from that.

    It is pretty obvious that the Qt folks don't care a whole lot about people who want to build from source on Windows using MSVC, because there isn't documentation anywhere that I can find on what configure options are used for the pre-built Windows distributions, and the Makefiles that configure generates for MSVC are very buggy.

    I don't think jom is any better than nmake in this case, because like tuli, I wasn't able to build a working distribution this way either. For what it's worth, this is the configure command I used that managed to build all the libraries, but I still couldn't get a working installation from the result:

    Qt Code:
    1. configure -platform win32-msvc2012 -debug-and-release -developer-build -opensource -opengl desktop -mp -skip webkit -no-dbus -no-strip -qt-zlib -I .\qtbase\include\QtZlib
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Similar Threads

  1. Failed on building qlalr submodule when compiling QT5 for VS2012
    By rhapsody0710 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th April 2013, 13:27
  2. Help! Building Qt libraries for VS2012 runtime
    By gil_mo in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st March 2013, 11:02
  3. Environment variable in vs2012 for Qt5
    By TorAn in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th March 2013, 02:59
  4. Build qt 4.8.3 with openssl with VS2012
    By Edder in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th December 2012, 18:08
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th February 2012, 09:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.