Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Devastating Deployment Issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Devastating Deployment Issues

    I really am totally clueless after reading http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5.0/qtd...t-windows.html and many similar articles and googeling the last 4 hours. I cant deploy my app. I wrote it in QT5.1.0 and I am completely confused... please help me.

    - I am using Qt5.1.0
    - MS Visual Studio 2012
    - QExtSerialPort
    - QCustomPlot

    I tried the static and the shared library approach, but failed on both - usually in the first line of the tutorial. For example where it says:
    Now run qmake to create a new makefile for the application, and do a clean build to create the dynamically linked executable:
    nmake clean
    qmake -config release
    nmake
    So I do: WIN+R, Enter -> CMD -> Enter
    If I type "nmake clean" I get:Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
    c:\Users\rt\Desktop\GUI>nmake clean
    Der Befehl "nmake" ist entweder falsch geschrieben oder
    konnte nicht gefunden werden.
    Which means Command nmake cannot be found in english.

    My program is called GUI and I can execute it just fine from inside the QT Creator. When I press STRG + R I see an folder being created in my programs directory, which is called build-GUI-Desktop_Qt_5_1_0_MSVC2012_64bit-Release - but I cant open the GUI.exe which is located there. It is only 383Kb big too. Which is awkwardly small I think, bc some of the to be included files are already bigger. I just want one big executable with all I need inside. I will update this thread if I try / find out more.
    Last edited by xtlc; 22nd October 2013 at 13:30.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    You will have to open a command shell that has the necessary paths set to include the path that contains nmake.

    There is usually a link for that in the start menu folder of visual studio.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. The following user says thank you to anda_skoa for this useful post:

    xtlc (24th October 2013)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    you mean the Visual Studio Developers CMD or however its named? I did try that. I got an error when I did "nmake clean" there.
    Last edited by xtlc; 22nd October 2013 at 20:36.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Google for "visual studio command prompt"
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    xtlc (24th October 2013)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    The "first line of the tutorial" is part of the instructions for building your Qt project from a command line. If you have already built your project from an IDE then start here.

    Perhaps you can tell us what you files and directories you deployed for your dynamically linked Qt application and what "Devastating Deployment Issue" you experienced etc.

  8. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    xtlc (24th October 2013)

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    When I use the VS CMD I get:

    c:\Users\rt\Desktop\GUI>nmake GUI.pro

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility, Version 11.00.50727.1
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

    GUI.pro(7) : fatal error U1036: Syntaxfehler: Zu viele Namen links von "="
    Stop.

    c:\Users\rt\Desktop\GUI
    Which says sth like "Syntax error: Too many names left from "=" stop.".

    pro folder.JPG
    Here is also my GUI.pro file:
    Qt Code:
    1. #-------------------------------------------------
    2. #
    3. # Project created by QtCreator 2013-07-25T11:53:23
    4. #
    5. #-------------------------------------------------
    6.  
    7. QT += core gui\ #<--- this would be line 7, is it where nmake throws an error?
    8.  
    9.  
    10. greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets printsupport
    11.  
    12. TARGET = GUI
    13. TEMPLATE = app
    14.  
    15. include(qextserialport-1.2rc/src/qextserialport.pri)
    16.  
    17. SOURCES += main.cpp\
    18. mainwindow.cpp \
    19. protokoll.cpp \
    20. multireturn.cpp \
    21. qcustomplot.cpp
    22.  
    23. HEADERS += mainwindow.h \
    24. protokoll.h \
    25. multireturn.h \
    26. qcustomplot.h
    27.  
    28. FORMS += mainwindow.ui
    29.  
    30. DEFINES += QT_DISABLE_DEPRECATED_BEFORE=0
    31.  
    32. #CONFIG += static
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    depends.jpg

    The german words next to "error opening file" can be translated as "System can't find specified file".
    Last edited by xtlc; 23rd October 2013 at 08:26.

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by xtlc View Post
    When I use the VS CMD I get:

    Which says sth like "Syntax error: Too many names left from "=" stop.".
    I don't know why you did that. It certainly doesn't say to do that in the instructions. A PRO file is an input to qmake, qmake produces a Makefile which is the input to nmake.

    In any case, as I said above, if your project builds in your IDE then you do not need to build it again from the command line.

    Your Dependency Walker screen shot indicates that you made no progress following the Creating the Application Package. There are some difference with Qt5, so you should read the Qt5 version of the same document. You need to start by copying the missing Qt5 DLLs into a deployment folder along with your compiled program.

  11. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    xtlc (24th October 2013)

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    I will proceed with the *.dll thing But the other question I mentioned above: My GUI.exe I can find in the release folder is so tiny... 383kb. I think that is to small?

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    depends2.jpgI managed to remove all the warnings. So what would be the next step? I read in ChrisW67's link I have to insert the msvcp90.dll
    (because I use VS) too. Is that correct? Or is this just for a VS 2008 version? I use VS 2012.

    If I know double click my GUI.exe I get:error.JPGTranslated word by word this says "The application could not be started correctly (0xc000007b). Click Ok, to close ...".

    EDIT: I copied the *.dll's in the folder "release" which is created, when I press STRG+R in QT.
    This is what the folder looks like right now:folder.jpg. I just wanna have one big exe that I can move from PC to PC.
    Last edited by xtlc; 23rd October 2013 at 14:22.

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by xtlc View Post
    depends2.jpgI managed to remove all the warnings. So what would be the next step? I read in ChrisW67's link I have to insert the msvcp90.dll
    (because I use VS) too. Is that correct? Or is this just for a VS 2008 version? I use VS 2012.
    You will need the Visual C++ 11 version of that file. I guess it is called msvcp110.dll but someone with the Microsoft tools would have to verify that.

    If I know double click my GUI.exe I get: ... Translated word by word this says "The application could not be started correctly (0xc000007b). Click Ok, to close ...".
    Have you created the "platforms" folder and copied "qwindows.dll" into it?
    Have you copied the DLLs for the third-party libraries in to the folder or have you built their sources directly into your executable?

    I just wanna have one big exe that I can move from PC to PC.
    To get your "one big executable", that I assume you want to work without an installation step requires:
    • building Qt itself (and its dependencies) from source for static linking,
    • building your third-party libraries from source for static linking,
    • building your application to statically link against the libraries above after modifying it to account for any plugins it needs, and
    • complying with any license requirements when distributing the executable.


    It is easier to create a folder with a dynamically linked executable that you either wrap into an installer (using NSIS, Innosetup or similar) or distribute as a zip file. In short, walk before you try to run.

  15. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    xtlc (24th October 2013)

  16. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    I am not quite curtain of what you mean with "platforms" folder? Have you seen the 9720 screenshot?
    Last edited by xtlc; 24th October 2013 at 12:45.

  17. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by xtlc View Post
    I am not quite curtain of what you mean with "platforms" folder? Have you seen the 9720 screenshot?
    Qt5 requires a QPA plugin that resides in a subdirectory called "platforms".
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  18. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Your deployment folder for a release Qt5 widgets application using the distributed Qt bundle should contain (minimum):
    Qt Code:
    1. Folder/
    2. your.exe
    3.  
    4. mylibrary.dll // any DLLs you have built as part your project (maybe none)
    5.  
    6. qextserialport.dll // Any DLLs from third parties that your application depends on (I guessed names)
    7. qcustomplot.dll
    8. ...
    9.  
    10. plugins/ // any plugins you have written and built for your project (maybe none)
    11. myplugin.dll
    12. myotherplugin.dll
    13.  
    14. Qt5Core.dll // Qt 5 libraries your program needs
    15. Qt5Gui.dll
    16. Qt5Core.dll
    17. ...
    18.  
    19. icudtXX.dll // Things the Qt5 libraries depend on
    20. icuinXX.dll
    21. icuucXX.dll
    22. libEGL.dll
    23. libGLESv2.dll
    24. d3dcompiler_XX.dll
    25.  
    26. msvcr110.dll // Dependencies your compiler imposes, in this case MS VC 11
    27. msvcp110.dll
    28.  
    29. platforms/ // Qt plugins required at run time to support platform
    30. qwindows.dll
    31.  
    32. imageformats/ // Other Qt plugins your program may require
    33. qjpeg.dll
    34. ...
    35. iconengines/
    36. qsvgicon.dll
    37. ...
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    The distributed packages are ICU and ANGLE-based.

  19. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    I succeded a little bit - after gathering all these files with the help of Dependency Walker and putting them all in my directory:

    Qt Code:
    1. 30.10.2013 09:24 <DIR> .
    2. 30.10.2013 09:24 <DIR> ..
    3. 16.06.2013 04:17 3.072 API-MS-Win-Core-Kernel32-Private-L1-1-1.dll
    4. 16.06.2013 04:17 3.072 api-ms-win-core-privateprofile-l1-1-1.dll
    5. 16.06.2013 04:17 3.584 api-ms-win-service-private-l1-1-1.dll
    6. 28.10.2013 14:21 391.680 GUI.exe
    7. 23.04.2013 10:45 22.317.056 icudt51.dll
    8. 23.04.2013 10:45 2.236.928 icuin51.dll
    9. 23.04.2013 10:45 1.690.112 icuuc51.dll
    10. 30.09.2013 02:46 346.624 IEShims.dll
    11. 02.07.2013 18:59 48.128 libEGL.dll
    12. 02.07.2013 09:00 329.216 libEGLd.dll
    13. 02.07.2013 09:00 860.160 libGLESv2.dll
    14. 02.07.2013 09:00 3.763.712 libGLESv2d.dll
    15. 26.07.2012 14:22 661.448 msvcp110.dll
    16. 26.07.2012 14:22 828.872 msvcr110.dll
    17. 28.10.2013 15:34 <DIR> platforms
    18. 24.07.2013 15:28 4.598.784 Qt5Core.dll
    19. 24.07.2013 15:28 10.124.800 Qt5Cored.dll
    20. 02.07.2013 09:05 3.678.720 Qt5Gui.dll
    21. 02.07.2013 09:06 7.675.904 Qt5Guid.dll
    22. 02.07.2013 09:11 528.896 Qt5PrintSupportd.dll
    23. 02.07.2013 18:59 4.269.568 Qt5Widgets.dll
    24. 02.07.2013 09:10 10.223.616 Qt5Widgetsd.dll
    25. 02.07.2013 09:12 1.043.456 qwindows.dll
    26. 02.07.2013 09:12 2.217.472 qwindowsd.dll
    27. 23 Datei(en), 77.844.880 Bytes
    28. 3 Verzeichnis(se), 38.681.681.920 Bytes frei
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    The only thing Dependency Walker shows right now (and I cant find these two dlls on my pc?):
    depend_3.jpg
    But when I double click my exe, just nothing happens. If I try to open it via comand prompt, it just does nothing too. No error, no reaction. Nothing. How shall I proceed now
    Last edited by xtlc; 30th October 2013 at 08:37.

  20. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    You are missing d3dcompiler_xx.dl.
    Put qwindows.dll in the platforms folder where it came from.

    Remove the debug libraries, e.g. Qt5Widgetsd.dll.
    Remove IEShims.dll, it is a non redistributable part of Windows (if it exists at all on a machine) and typically is not required despite what Dependency Walker would indicate.
    I do not know what the api-ms-* files are but I suspect they are not required. Try removing them after you get the program starting.

  21. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Still the same: No error, no nothing

    Dependency Walker now shows this (i deleted the IEShims.dll, put the qwindows.dll in the platforms folder (its empty except that one file, correct?) and removed the *d.dll files and/or replaced them with the *.dll's).

    depend_4.jpg
    The red C++ lines on the right side there make me nervous...
    And this is how the folder looks like right now:
    files_1.PNG

    EDIT: Ah and I used the d3dcompiler_47.dll - is that kinda correct?
    Last edited by xtlc; 4th November 2013 at 09:28.

  22. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    anyone got any idea?

  23. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    You said you were building your project with VS2012(VC11) yet the Qt5Widgets DLL you are deploying appears to be linked against the runtime for VS2010(VC10, msvcr100.dll). Are you sure you do not have mixed versions and that you are getting the correct Qt5 library binaries?

  24. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    xtlc (7th November 2013)

  25. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    no i am not. i am not sure about anything regarding deployment

    How can I check this / undo my mistake?

  26. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    It is difficult because I cannot see your machine and do not have a VS2010 or 2012 install.

    Exactly which version of Qt have you downloaded and installed?
    What directories do you have in your Qt install directory?
    Is there more than one Qt5Widgets.dll on your machine (other than the one in your deployment folder)? Which paths?

  27. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    xtlc (11th November 2013)

Similar Threads

  1. !!!! problem deployment of a Mac
    By eric_vi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 15:38
  2. A different deployment technique QT. Is it the right way of deployment?
    By Tarun in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th February 2010, 14:45
  3. deployment size issues, please help
    By udit in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th August 2009, 09:32
  4. Qt 4.3: Deployment on MAC
    By Angelo Moriconi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd July 2007, 12:03
  5. deployment of a dll using qt
    By mandal in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2007, 15:35

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.