Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Embed Mplayer in QML

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Embed Mplayer in QML

    Hello,
    I want to play movies in my QML application (on the background layer), but MediaPlayer in QML is insufficient. I tried to use QMPwidget (from http://qmpwidget.sourceforge.net/) but this class is inherit from QWidget and I can't embed object of this class in QML. My new idea is run MPlayer directly in QML but I don't know how to handle seperate process and put it in background. Please help to solve this problem

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    Basically that's not a good idea. What is "insufficient" in default Qt media capabilities?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    I want to play sequentially movie and sometimes I get lag when I try to jump from one part to another. Besides I'm afraid of this error: "virtual bool QSGVideoItemSurface:resent(const QVideoFrame&) I'm getting bad frames here..." and I don't know what exactly it is but it show when is lag in movie. I try to other players because I think lags maybe go away

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    Qt uses GStreamer on Unix platforms which is of similar quality to libraries MPlayer is using, you will not get better performance by using MPlayer. Bad frames rather suggest corrupted stream.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    Thank you for reply
    I have question with this error in bad frames. Because sometimes I get this error and sometimes I don't. This bad frames error doesn't show sometimes at all but sometimes it show in every part. Do you have any idea?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    There could be many reasons. I wouldn't be worried with it.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    Thank you for reply but is there diffrence in use MediaPlayer in QML (Video Output) and QT VideoWidget in performance field?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Embed Mplayer in QML

    Quote Originally Posted by mastablasta View Post
    Thank you for reply but is there diffrence in use MediaPlayer in QML (Video Output) and QT VideoWidget in performance field?
    Both should be using the same backend.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  9. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    mastablasta (30th April 2015)

Similar Threads

  1. How to switch mplayer fullscreen?
    By kenchan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th December 2012, 12:30
  2. Integrating Mplayer inside Qt Tab
    By hitesh_sharma@satyam in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th April 2012, 13:26
  3. Playing mplayer inside QWidget
    By sinha.ashish in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 14th January 2011, 12:14
  4. To play mplayer in widget
    By Deepak Mishra in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th November 2007, 16:42

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.