Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Libraries in debug mode ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Libraries in debug mode ?

    Hi all,
    is there a way to have the QT libraries in 'debug version' to allow the developed to trace step-by-step into the QT calls?
    Do i need a version with the symbols included?
    How can i buils them?

    Thanks !!
    SteM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Libraries in debug mode ?

    In short, see "configure -help".

    PS. On Windows there is a shortcut for building debug libs in the start menu (provided that Qt was installed from a binary installer).
    J-P Nurmi

  3. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    SteM (8th August 2007)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Libraries in debug mode ?

    Thanks a lot.
    What about to compile an application in debug mode, with its symbols?

    Can i debug them with the 'standard' gdb or do i need some other tools?

    Thansk again !
    SteM

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Libraries in debug mode ?

    Yes, gdb is fine. Either invoke:
    qmake -config debug
    or add
    CONFIG += debug
    to the .pro file and rebuild the application.
    J-P Nurmi

  6. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    SteM (8th August 2007)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Libraries in debug mode ?

    Thanks again!
    In the project i received I read the .pro file and i see the debug option set, but it reports it is generated automatically by qmake.
    How can i generate it for debug and release version?

    PS: I typed 'qmake -help' and i didn't see -config option

    Thanks again !!
    SteM

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Libraries in debug mode ?

    If you want to build both debug and release: Building in Both Modes. I couldn't spot documentation for "qmake -config" but it's being used for example all over the examples. There are a few undocumented features in qmake.
    J-P Nurmi

  9. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    SteM (8th August 2007)

Similar Threads

  1. Difference between Debug and Release Mode
    By sunil.thaha in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th May 2013, 13:31
  2. qodbc driver not loaded error in release mode
    By mandal in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th November 2006, 09:42
  3. Problem with Debug mode in KDevelop
    By zlatko in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th June 2006, 09:10
  4. Unable to execute in Debug Mode
    By Kapil in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 5th April 2006, 07:27
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd March 2006, 19:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.