Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: changes in code not making any difference in output

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default changes in code not making any difference in output

    I have downloaded source code of analogwidgets from www.qt-apps.org website.i compiled & run the program.but when i tried to make changes in the source code & compile & run.there was no change in the output.anyone can please help me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Are you sure the application was recompiled?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    sorry for replying so late.I was on leave till today.now I am back.yes,I am sure the application was recompiled.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Could you state exactly what did you do step by step and what compiler output you received?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Could you state exactly what did you do step by step and what compiler output you received?
    I made changes in the thermometer.cpp file of analogwidgets and compiled i.e.typed make ,but it showed nothing to be done.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    So you either changed the wrong file or didn't save the changes before running make.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    I saved the changes before running make & also changed the correct file.can u please view the source code.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sant'Elpidio a Mare, Italy
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    It sounds very strange...
    what S.wysota said is enhough...
    if you see "nothing to be done" means that your modifies have no been compiled, something is wrong.
    Check out: the right file, the right directory, that you saved changes.

    More, try this is out: delete or simply move a project file from the directory to another and compile. If compiler complains the file problem is elsewhere (strange), if not, you are probably compiling in the wrong directory.
    --
    raccoon29

    "La mia vita finirà quando non vedrò più la gente ridere...non necessariamente alle mie battute "

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    previously when i had this problem it somehow got solved after restarting.but this problem arises after a regular interval of time.This time restarting is also not helping.I am compiling in the right directory.saving changes of right file,right directory.can u please help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Are you using Visual Studio? It is known to play such tricks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    No I am not using visual studio.I am using notepad & textpad

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    Maybe you somehow operated on different files? Could you verify that the size/access date of the appropriate files get changed and calling make afterwards doesn't rebuild them?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    52
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    I am operating on the correct file.I also verified the modified date is shown the latest.i.e.I modified it today so it is showing todays date.but after make there is no change in the output. make returned the following:
    D:\Qt\4.4.3\AnalogWidgets\analogwidgets\code>make
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release all
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/cod
    e'
    g++ -c -march=pentium3 -Os -Wall -pipe -mfpmath=sse -Wall -frtti -fexceptions -m
    threads -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_SCRIPT_LIB -DQT_SVG_
    LIB -DQT_XML_LIB -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -I"..\..\..\incl
    ude\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\i
    nclude\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\include\QtXml" -I"..\..\..\include\QtXml" -I"..\..\..\
    include\QtSvg" -I"..\..\..\include\QtSvg" -I"..\..\..\include\QtScript" -I"..\..
    \..\include\QtScript" -I"..\..\..\include" -I"..\analogwidgets" -I"d:\Qt\4.4.3\i
    nclude\ActiveQt" -I"tmp\moc\release_shared" -I"." -I"..\..\..\mkspecs\win32-g++"
    -o ..\objects\thermometer.o thermometer.cpp
    ar -M < object_script.libanalogwidgets.Release
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/code
    '
    mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug all
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/cod
    e'
    mingw32-make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `D:/Qt/4.4.3/AnalogWidgets/analogwidgets/code
    '

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: changes in code not making any difference in output

    From what I see thermometer.cpp was recreated, so there definitely is some change in the output. "ar" is used to build static libraries. If you use the library for any projects, you have to rebuild those projects as well.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Compile VTKDesigner2 with Qt?
    By alfredoaal in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 05:34
  2. Output is there..but code doesnt look to be Perfect..!
    By salmanmanekia in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th June 2008, 09:04
  3. Making source code available
    By vermarajeev in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th June 2007, 22:01
  4. problem with linking
    By mickey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12th August 2006, 21:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.