Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Qt Embedded and tslib?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Hi,
    I'm developing a Qt-application for a embedded Linux device with a touchscreen and when I try to configure Qt to use tslib I get an error message as follows:

    The tslib functionality test failed!
    You might need to modify the include and library search paths by editing
    QMAKE_INCDIR and QMAKE_LIBDIR in
    /home/andreas/QT/qt-embedded-linux-opensource-src-4.5.1/mkspecs/qws/linux-arm-g++.


    My procedure for building tslib:
    Qt Code:
    1. # ./autogen.sh
    2. # ./configure CC=arm-none-linux-gnueabi-gcc CXX=arm-none-linux-gnueabi-g++ \
    3. -host=arm-none-linux-gnueabi -target=arm-none-linux-gnueabi \
    4. -enable-static=no -enable-shared=yes
    5. # make -k
    6. # su -c "make -k install"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    And Qt procedure:
    Qt Code:
    1. # make confclean
    2. # ./configure -embedded arm -shared -release -no-largefile -qt-sql-sqlite \
    3. -no-qt3support -no-phonon -no-svg -no-scripttools -nomake demo -nomake \
    4. examples -nomake doc -qt-decoration-default -no-opengl -qt-gfx-linuxfb \
    5. -little-endian -no-phonon-backend -no-cups -qt-mouse-tslib \
    6. -no-feature-cursor -no-kbd-usb -no-kbd-tty -no-mouse-linuxtp \
    7. -no-gfx-multiscreen
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Then it fails with the error message above...

    How do I get passed that? Detailed instructions would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Where are the include files and libraries from tslib? Are they in /usr/lib or /usr/local/lib or where?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    The libraries are in /usr/local/lib and include files in /usr/local/include

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Does /usr/local/lib reside in your ld.so.conf? If not, you have to add it there and run ldconfig or pass appropriate flags to configure so that it looks for libraries there. By the way, probably placing the lib in /usr/local/lib doesn't make much sense if it is a library for architecture other than your native one. It'd be better if you created a separate directory structure for ARM files and pointed the configuration scripts to it.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Regardless of which path I place tslib in, do I get Qt to use it with the -L and -I flags when I configure Qt? Or is it something else I have missed?

    Edit: Yes, /usr/local/lib resides in ld.so.conf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    What does ldd on the tslib return?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    "not a dynamically executable binary"
    Or what it could look like in english


    Edit: Are there any other options beside tslib for using Qt on an ARM embedded system?

    Have to edit again.... this is what i get with ldd now:
    libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x4000b000)
    libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x40016000)
    /lib/ld-linux.so.3 (0x2a000000)
    Last edited by newstead; 18th May 2009 at 07:39.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    This looks like a library compiled for your system, not for ARM.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    This looks like a library compiled for your system, not for ARM.
    That's from running ldd on the ARM-board. Running ldd on the same file at my host brings the "not an executable..." message

    If I run "file libts-0.0.so.0.1.1" I get:
    libts-0.0.so.0.1.1: ELF 32-bit LSB shared object, ARM, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, not stripped
    So it's definitely compiled for the ARM-arch. Therefore, the question still remains: How do I use tslib from Qt?
    Last edited by newstead; 18th May 2009 at 13:57.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    You need to point Qt's configure script to tslib's include files and you need the tslib library available in a place where the linker can find it.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    You need to point Qt's configure script to tslib's include files and you need the tslib library available in a place where the linker can find it.
    I'm past that now. It seems however that there is some problems not related to Qt since these commands:
    Qt Code:
    1. mknod /dev/input/event1 c 13 65
    2. rm -f /etc/pointercal
    3.  
    4. export TSLIB_CONSOLEDEVICE=none
    5. export TSLIB_FBDEVICE=/dev/fb0
    6. export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/event1
    7. export TSLIB_CALIBFILE=/etc/pointercal
    8. export TSLIB_CONFFILE=/usr/etc/ts.conf
    9. export TSLIB_PLUGINDIR=/usr/lib/ts
    10.  
    11. export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    results in:
    Qt Code:
    1. xres = 480, yres = 640
    2. selected device is not a touchscreen I understand
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Even though it might not belong in a Qt-forum, maybe you have an idea why tslib doesn't recognise the device as a touchscreen?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    I have no experience in using tslib, so no, I don't have any idea. I might guess that either the event source (/dev/input/event*) or the kernel module is not configured/running properly.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  13. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    newstead (4th June 2009)

  14. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Problem solved. It actually turned out to be a HW-error but thanks for your help anyway!

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Embedded and tslib?

    Hi,

    I am having the same problem. can you please post the steps you followed to solve this problem.

    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. custom class for tslib
    By nrabara in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th April 2009, 13:15
  2. QTEmbedded tslib -> tsharc touchscreen
    By Honta in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th February 2009, 05:36
  3. tslib
    By raman_31181 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th September 2008, 12:10
  4. QT embedded and HID mouse, can i?
    By webquinty in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 15:37

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.