Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problems running applications .exe

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mikkeli, Finland
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Problems running applications .exe

    Hi there,

    I am currently running my applications with Qt Creator and everything works fine. However, I would also like to run my applications in .exe format found in the <filename>-build-desktop folder and unfortunately I get the following error...

    mingwm10.dll is missing

    http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/3923/mingwm10.png

    I am running Windows 7 32bits.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you in advance.
    Regards,

    croussou

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    You need to copy the "missing" dll's, or on your system you can add to the Environment Variable->Path the path to those dll's, so that the OS can find them and start your application.

    I recommend the copy method, since this will also prepare you for deployment on other systems that don't have Qt installed.

    The following dll: mingwm10.dll and libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll are needed for MinGW run-time (can be found in INSTALL_FOLDER\mingw\bin)
    And for Qt you need one for each module you used in the application (example the release version of QtCore module: QtCore4.dll and note that you need the release build for that - the debug version of dll (QtCored4.dll) is not meant for deployment - just for bug-fixing)

    Qt dll's usually can be found in INSTALL_FOLDER\qt\bin
    Another note: if you installed one of the SDK's it usually have two copies of QtMODULE.dll (only dll's from one place work with your application - if you can't find the Qt dll's say which SDK version you installed and most likely there will be someone using the same version and guide you to the correct path)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mikkeli, Finland
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    Thanks for replying.

    Shouldn't those .dll's have been automatically put in the Environment Variable->Path during the installation of the software? Why with Qt this insertion should be done manually?

    In addition, I am running Nokia Qt SDK 1.0.2. All the applications are automatically deployed on the mobile. Is there a way to also choose to run the application as a desktop application?

    What is the difference between Nokia Qt SDK 1.0 from Qt SDK for Windows? I guess the first is intended for mobile use only? How do I combine both?

    I thought to install both versions but wouldn't that cause some problems?

    Thanks again.
    Regards,

    croussou

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    The Qt SDK 1.1 beta combine (and let you choose) different mobile and desktop Qt SDK versions.

    //but still doesn't put those dll's in path
    //i think it's a good thing, since you can easy "emulate" a system without Qt (a deployment target) on your development system
    LE: and you can select which dll's must be included when you are creating the installer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mikkeli, Finland
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    Alright got it.

    I guess I will uninstall everything and install the Qt SDK 1.1 beta from the beginning that combines both.

    So I need to add the directory paths of the missing .dll's in the Environment Variable->Path; and do that for every missing .dll?

    Thanks.
    Regards,

    croussou

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    No, not Path is not for individual dll, the OS will see all the dll's that are in the path you added.

    So if you choose to add to Path you will need to add two paths:
    1) one for the MinGW run-time dll's, it will be something like: C:\QtSDK\mingw\bin
    2) another one for Qt dll's, looking somthing like: C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.2\mingw\bin

    Note that the Beta can install Qt built with VS (2005/2008) and those dll's won't work if you build your application with MinGW... so be careful

    And, as i said earlier i recommend you to leave the Path alone and just copy the dll's (this way you will get prepared for deploying your application on other systems)

    LE: be careful not to delete stuff that is already there, and note that different paths are separated by ;

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mikkeli, Finland
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    And, as i said earlier i recommend you to leave the Path alone and just copy the dll's (this way you will get prepared for deploying your application on other systems)
    What do you exactly mean by that? Copy the .dll's where?
    Regards,

    croussou

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    read step 3 on this page: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/install-win.html

    Also, you should be able to run your program from the <filename>-build-desktop folder by opening a Qt prompt:
    Start-Programs-Qt SDK (version)-Qt Command Prompt

    This prompt should have the path set correctly for finding all dll's for mingw and Qt. Unless of course if your executable depends on other 3rd party dll's, then you will have to deal with those in a similar fashion by placing them in the path or copying them to the said folder.

    In general, you can only run a program from the command line if:
    1) the executable is in the current folder, or
    2) the executable's location is in the path

    same applies to DLL's

    If you want to deploy, then look at this web page: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/deployment-windows.html
    Last edited by schnitzel; 25th March 2011 at 16:31. Reason: spelling corrections

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mikkeli, Finland
    Posts
    8
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Problems running applications .exe

    Thank you all for your answers.

    Everything works great now, I choose desktop app, works fine, then Sybian or Maemo still fine. I am very glad. Much appreciated.

    Let's say now though, you develop an application you want for Sybian. You test it and it works like a charm and you decide to "export" it. Is this the right way to say it? Anyway, what I am trying to say is that, you want to install it on your phone or even share on a forum or with friends.

    How would you do that? Is there something additional to be done?
    Regards,

    croussou

Similar Threads

  1. Running Qt applications on windows
    By Maluko_Da_Tola in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th September 2010, 20:51
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd November 2009, 12:25
  3. running external applications via QT?
    By cruisx in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th August 2009, 06:34
  4. problems running: uic.exe, moc.exe etc.[fixed]
    By fres in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th June 2007, 00:17
  5. Problems running on a Mac
    By spud in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th May 2007, 16:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.